POETRY

Sigils with Onyx Ink

On impossible dreams and grieving

River's Writings
Iceberg’s Poetry
Published in
3 min readApr 6, 2024

--

A woman with glittering shoulders is sitting in a dim light, touching her face and looking at the camera.
Woman with glittering shoulders sitting in a dim light. Photo by Almighty Shilref from Pexels

I can’t seem to let it go,
I try again and again,
I try
But my best seems to
Crossfire
With my worst

The vice-like grip of mo(u)rning keeps twisting,
It keeps tightening around my broken body,
Distorting the already charred edges,
Wiring the walls around my
Spastic heartbeats

I shield away from the light,
The cloak of the endless eventide
Enough to keep the dissolution entreatingly emanating
From the daylight, hopelessly
Searching in the dark for what I lost and for what I can never have

Stepping in the intrinsic luminosity is not a choice
When I became the nightfall,
So I keep standing here, observing from the shadows
With suture stitches of dreams ripping apart,
As I watch from afar the hanging yearnings
Dissipate like a mist pierced by the sunshine

--

--

River's Writings
Iceberg’s Poetry

I write poetry about mental health, trauma, relationships, and more. Writing is my journey of reclaiming my power and becoming the author of my life. 📖