Unsettled Bets

cliff notes from the underworld

Rebel Angel
Iceberg’s Poetry
1 min readApr 2, 2024

--

Photograph by Author

Disloyalty gets distance
I won't be co-existent
Remedial, remastered, retro-
active Castelian Spanish
Spanglish on the vanish
like promises & loans
reading palms & rolling bones
Robbing all the hobgoblin
hob knobbing bridge trolls
Never tell people what you know
No enemy can ever be a friend
but motherfuckers will pretend
Extend no hand
to a fraudulent man
Let the weathervane explain
what television’s done to your brain
Parlor games for the weak minded
stand like a house divided
I ain't mad, I'm just misguided
Blindsided broadsided
I'd trade your life for mine
I'd sleep just fine
We've all been left behind
The Rapture was not televised
but the prayers were improvised
Ack! Ack! Panic attack
Mario Land coin stack
I can't set boundaries
with all these knives in my back
They'll fix you
They fix everything
I'll wake you when it's
your turn to play King

--

--

Rebel Angel
Iceberg’s Poetry

I work 7 days a week at 2 jobs. In between, I write fiction, poetry, a weekly column, essays, mental health articles, and all the weird in my head.