Snowden and Data Privacy

Did you find this post, or did this post find you?

Data privacy laws have changed over the years as a result of people learning more about their Internet freedom. Edward Snowden was a revolutionary figure in spreading awareness about what was going on behind closed doors. How did this effect your own social media habits? Patterns? Perspectives?

I noticed a huge change in mine and my friend’s social media patterns- one that spoke volumes- nothing. Nothing changed. Did Snowden risk so much for us for nothing? It’s crazy how little data privacy laws cover, but even crazier how little the majority of us care.

So many questions, so little answers. Let’s start from the beginning.

This is Edward Snowden.

via Edward Snowden’s instagram @that_snowden

Recognize him? If not for his work in 2013, maybe you know him as the President at Freedom of the Press Foundation.

In short, Snowden leaked top secret information from the National Security Agency revealing that the government was taking citizen’s private records without their knowledge. This could be me, you, any of your neighbors… there were no guidelines. They stole from everybody.

Differing opinions

This started many debates over how much the government should really be taking from us, why this is covered up, and data privacy in general. The information gathered from these debates is beneficial to the general public for the mere fact that it sheds light on what is really happening behind our backs. Why was the government hiding so much of this from us? Why is our data that valuable to begin with?

Snowden took a huge risk leaking this information and after doing so instantly fled from the United States to hide in Hong Kong. Had been found, his consequences could have ranged anywhere from a life time in a jail to being secretly tortured by government officials. Why would he risk losing everything he had?

“I’m willing to sacrifice all of that because I can’t in good conscience allow the US government to destroy privacy, internet freedom and basic liberties” (Snowden).

A pretty good reason if you ask me. I mean really, this man was so loyal to his country that he couldn’t stand to see his own brothers get lied to by the government. He left his whole life in the United States to show people the truth.

What even is data privacy? Why is it important?

Data privacy is a policy that ensures the safety of you and all of your data points through the media. This includes your passwords, credit card information, addresses, who you speak to, and even access to your camera and microphone at all times.

Data privacy seems like it should be something enforced: “privacy should be promoted as a default setting of every new ICT system and should be built into systems from the design stage” (Koops). The unfortunate truth is that it’s not.

It’s quite ironic how we put our trust into highly educated government officials working in agencies such as the NSA, yet they fail to protect us.

So, how does affect me you’re wondering? I was born in 2000. By middle school I had a smartphone, and by high school I was totally social media addicted. As a 16 year old, I had no idea about privacy policies, terms and conditions, or any of the logistics of my apps. To think that the NSA was probably stealing 16-year old me data is upsetting. Sure, they didn’t care about all the food and sunset photos I was taking, and neither did I. But no one assumes that what they are doing isn’t private- especially when it comes to typing in passwords and making online purchases.

How this affected my life

I was 12 when Snowden leaked this information. Way too young to even know what it meant. So no, this didn’t immediately affect my life and change my attitude towards social media. Continuing to grow up online however, my peers and I never once talked about how we thought our privacy was at risk, or how we felt as though the government was spying on us secretly.

This wasn’t a relevant issue until I became educated on this topic. I went to college, took new courses, learned new things, and decided for myself that internet and global freedom is something that I do in fact stand for, and will preach until our points are heard.

I love Snowden. I love his values, his courage, and most of all his love for the people. Some consider him a traitor- a violator of the espionage act- leaking prohibited information that sheds light on the US government.

My question is, why don’t we normalize shedding light on the truth? Each year we get more and more reasons to leave the media all behind, but fail to ever do so. When will we ever have enough?

via Arc Digital Media.

Works Cited

i. Bert-Jaap Koops & Ronald Leenes (2014) Privacy regulation cannot be hardcoded. A critical comment on the ‘privacy by design’ provision in data-protection law, International Review of Law, Computers & Technology, 28:2, 159–171, DOI: 10.1080/13600869.2013.801589

--

--