How I Created Indian Monument Illustrations

Falak Mehta
Iconscout - Design Assets Marketplace
4 min readJul 16, 2020

Before joining Iconscout 6 months back, I used to make all my drawings on paper with my pencils and pens. But when I joined here as an Illustration Designer, I come to know about the importance of digital design. I learned to draw digitally along with various other tricks of designing.

After months of practice where I have created many illustrations, we decided to create something related to India. That’s when Indian Monuments illustrations idea came in. After the initial discussion, the team has decided to hand me over the entire project. So here I am documenting my process of how I created this pack.

Research

Research is the first and most important part of creation. For the research part, I studied the art culture, went through some famous works. Searched for inspiration, After going through a lot of references and studying the past closely here I am with my perspective of India and its monuments.

Making And Process

List — First of all the list of monuments was created followed by the shortlisting of these according to the states and cities. There was a long list of monuments so, we decided to post them in groups and not all at once. This is a trial project to know the audience’s response.

So here are the shortlisted monuments:

  1. Taj Mahal from Agra
  2. India gate from Delhi
  3. Gateway of India from Mumbai
  4. Charminar from Hyderabad
  5. Agra fort from Agra
  6. Victoria memorial from Kolkata
  7. Shaniwar wada from Pune
  8. Open hand monument from Chandigarh
  9. Moti masjid from Bhopal
  10. Humayun tomb from Delhi
  11. Gol gumbaz from Bijapur
  12. Buland darwaza from Fatehpur sikri
  13. Hawa Mahal from Jaipur
  14. Cellular jail from Andaman islands
  15. Lotus temple from Delhi
  16. Bada imambara from Lucknow
  17. Mysore palace from Mysore
  18. Qutub Minar from Delhi
  19. The red fort from Delhi
  20. Shri Maheshwari temple from Chennai

Guidelines

Style, View, and Color

Coming to style, view, the color we had to decide the guide for this illustration pack. These illustrations were hand-drawn so with the hand-drawn reference we created a design with straight lines, sharp and perfect measurements. We wanted to give a realistic look so we stuck to actual colors. So after going through lots of trial sketches and styles we came to these conclusive decisions.

Sketches

Monuments are known for their beauty and we have tried to incorporate it in our sketches. Simple and subtle with authenticity. These illustrations are created based on the essence of Indian heritage.

Process and Making

Final Result

Here are the 20 vector illustrations available in SVG, PNG, and EPS file formats.

How you can Download

Below is the link for this Illustration pack. They are totally free to download. Download now and enjoy!!!

https://iconscout.com/illustration-pack/indian-monuments

Tips

Adding and removing a detail can do wonders. It’s the small things that matter the most in the illustrations.

My overall experience has been wonderful and special thanks to the team Iconscout for always guiding and motivating me at every step.

Thank you for reading. I hope you loved reading it and it was helpful! You can download this pack and thousands of other icons, illustrations, and stock photos from Iconscout.

--

--