Dick’s Last Resort Should Be Your First Resort

Callie Morris
IDEA & WORD
Published in
2 min readFeb 9, 2018

As my father and I walked closer to the looming neon palm trees, I grew increasingly suspicious. When my dad spotted Dick’s Last Resort in downtown Indianapolis, he immediately decided that was where we would eat for the night. “Have you ever heard of this place?”, he asked me as we got closer. My answer of no seemed to delight him. Walking inside revealed nothing out of the ordinary. There were bright bulbs hanging from the ceiling and the wait staff were wearing tacky Hawaiian shirts. It wasn’t until we were seated and our waiter came over that I realized what made this place unique.

At Dick’s Last Resort the waiters job isn’t just to take and fulfill your order, its also to embarrass, harass and insult you in front of your table and sometimes the entire restaurant. When I asked for a refill on water, he pointed to where the soda fountain was and told me to get it myself. When my dad asked about something on the menu he shrugged and told him to google it. One popular attraction is the giant paper hats the waiters will make you with insults on them. At the time, my hairstyle was an undercut and it was the main thing my waiter poked fun at me for, so my paper hat said “I could only afford half of a haircut.”

The menu is a southern style with everything from barbecue, seafood, and burgers being offered. When my burger and my fathers catfish arrived, our waiter gave us the wrong plates on purpose and then requested we not bother him for the rest of the night because he was busy. As we were eating our waiter requested the attention of our entire section to announce that two grown men had just ordered waters from the bar. The men at the table behind him waved at everyone as they were laughing. We ended up ordering desert just to prolong our stay and to keep laughing at our own and others misfortune. You will leave this restaurant talking about your experience for the rest of the night and remembering it for a long time. Don’t let Dick’s Last Resort be a last resort for you.

--

--