Fish Out of Water

Chelsey Black
IDEA & WORD
Published in
1 min readMar 19, 2018

So what I have in mind for my fish out of water project(?) is to take a Muay Thai Kickboxing class. The women in my family have always been apart of that world and honestly, it’s something I’ve always wanted to try but haven’t found the time.

There is something about that world that is strongly appealing. It’s more than the physical benefits and the mental fortitude, but also the sense of security. Should anything happen I liked to think I could defend myself.

When I watch my sisters come back from class there is this air about them. My oldest sister works at a family practice and is on her way to becoming a doctor, so she’s always busy. (I shouldn’t have an excuse…haha.) She says that you begin to develop mental toughness. Being pushed to the limits of her endurance and finding her breaking point allows her to deal with the intense world of medicine.

Durango Martial Art Academy offers classes and the first class is free.

Should this fall through, I did go to a nightclub for the first time in December. That was an experience…

--

--