It Does Get Better! Interview with Morgan Mcclain

Marianna Carpenter
IDEA & WORD
Published in
5 min readMar 2, 2018

I interviewed LGBT member and activist Morgan Jean Mcclain, she originally grew up in South Carolina, but she has now lived in Durango Colorado for about two years now with her girlfriend. I mostly asked a lot about how her experiences as being a lesbian and hopes for the future with the way that today’s world has been. My main emphasis for this interview was that she is a culture maker by her daily existence to combat for a better, brighter future.

Mari: How did you know you were a Lesbian?

Morgan: Thinking back on my childhood, I remember quite a few “signs” I guess you would say that I was not straight. From making my girl Barbies kiss to having crushes on neighborhood girls. I had the actual realization that I was not straight around thirteen. At the time, I was too scared to use the word “lesbian” so I decided I was Bi. I sat in denial for a few more years until I was seventeen, Bisexual didn’t feel right and my supposed attraction to men really felt… artificial and forced. So, I sat down and did a lot of soul searching, and watched a lot of ‘It Gets Better’ videos! And was finally able to come to the conclusion that I was a lesbian and that was okay!

Mari: What kind of reactions did you experience when you came out?

Morgan: My friends, peers, and father were completely supportive and happy for me. The rest of my family, on the other hand, was not. I came out to them via a text message in the middle of the night. I assumed they’d all be asleep and I’d block their numbers. My mother was awake when she received my text and promptly called me. I was too scared to answer, so she left me a voicemail. In the voicemail, she was screaming at the top of her lungs. She told me she was going to kill me… Literally. I then called her back and sat on the phone with her for upwards of four hours with her telling me that I was an awful person, I ruined the family, how could I do this to her, etc. In the following days, I received many calls like this from my aunt and grandmother as well. My family told me that they were going to check me into conversion therapy because I was “confused and needed to speak with a Christian therapist.” Luckily I was physically kept safe by my girlfriend’s family here in Colorado. As a result of this, I have developed C-PTSD.

Mari: Wow, I am sorry that you had such a negative experience from a lot of your family members that should always be supportive no matter what, I am glad you are safe. With all of the hatred going around with the current administrations actions against LGBT people, its almost eerie how the past seems to repeat itself, how do you and other LGBT people fight all this hate?

Morgan: In my eyes, I have fought too much against the world to be ashamed now. A campaign that has really resonated with me is the “Hold Tight” campaign from Australia. It encourages LGBT couples to hold hands in public. Whenever I am feeling belittled or attacked in our current society, I hold my girlfriend’s hand a little tighter because why should I be embarrassed or ashamed of who I am if I can’t change it?

Mari: What advice would you give to your younger self?

Morgan: I would assure my younger self that IT GETS BETTER! It may not seem like it and the It Gets Better campaign might seem a little cheesy but it’s completely true. Everything DOES get better, just keep holding on.

Mari: There is a staggering number of violence against LGBT people, especially against those who are of the younger generation, which may force them into the closet. What advice would you give to anyone struggling to come out of the closet?

Morgan: First of all, make sure you are safe. I can’t reiterate that enough — MAKE SURE YOU’RE SAFE! I know it is lonely in the closet but your physical well being always comes first. Come out to people you’re sure will support you first. If you’re in a place where coming out of the closet may make you end up homeless, have a plan in place — somewhere to stay, someone to pick you up etc. Get in contact with local LGBT youth nonprofits and organizations, like the Rainbow Youth center here! They can offer support and advice and are likely to know options for you. Lastly, remember that, no matter what happens, you are incredibly brave and strong. Being gay is awesome! There’s nothing to be ashamed of.

Mari: I can’t agree more, Do you have any future advice for your kids?

Morgan: I will always love you and support you no matter what. Please don’t be afraid to speak to me about what’s going on with you. I will never judge you. And, no matter what, it will always get better. The sun will rise tomorrow and a new day will begin and you can try again.

Mari: Since you have lived in Durango almost two years now, has it been an accepting community?

Morgan: For the most part- yes! Much more supportive than the south where I grew up. My girlfriend and I have gotten a few stares and disapproving looks but it doesn’t bother us. My favorite story is when Alex and I were at the Durango Recreation Center hot tub. We were just hanging out when a group of children entered the hot tub. They kind of looked at us a little funny and whispered for a bit before one of them asked, “Are you guys sisters?” To which we responded “No.” “Friends?” “Nope! We are girlfriends!” The kids left the hot tub soon after.

Mari: Do you think there are any areas of improvements that Durango could do for LGBT people?

Morgan: I’d love to see more LGBT spaces in Durango! I’d also love to see more gender neutral bathrooms for my trans friends.

Mari: What are your other interests?

Morgan: I like to play video games, read, listen to music, do makeup, pet dogs, drink iced coffee, and kiss my girlfriend!

Mari: What do you hope the end goal is for LGBT people as a whole?

Morgan: Complete acceptance. No longer being an anomaly. Being gay being just as normal and accepted as being straight. Ideally, no child would ever have to “come out” they’d just be themselves.

Mari: Thank you so much for your time!

Morgan: Of course, glad to meet with you!

--

--