More than a Feeling

Faith Owen
IDEA & WORD
Published in
1 min readFeb 16, 2018

The sun was beating down, hot and heavy on my skin, I was physically miserable, and yet, emotionally, the happiest I have ever been. My first music festival experience was at Country Jam in Grand Junction, Colorado. Although most people around here are not exactly fans of country music, this festival was so much bigger than the music itself. I can barely even remember who all performed or who was my favorite. The experience of a music festival alone is what made it so spectacular.

We had to camp in the middle of June. There was not a drop of rain in sight. There was dust and dirt crawling all over me all of the time; you couldn’t escape it. There was a giant group of us friends that went, three campers, five nights, endless drinking, and memories made. From dancing in the grass in the middle of the field where the stage was and the performers played, to having water fights in the middle of camp to escape the heat, no matter where we were, we were all content. We were all happy. These festivals are about much more than just listening to music. They are about making memories that will last a lifetime. The experience far outweighs the music, and, in my opinion, the music itself was also pretty amazing.

--

--