Principle #6: be good at what you do

Jorge Guerra Pires, PhD
IdeaCoding Lab
Published in
3 min readMar 10, 2024

--

I know you are most likey anxious to start coding, and creating smart apps that can see. I would be, I was when I first got my book on machine learning in JavaScript in my hands. I was very curious that I could create those smart apps in HTML, instead of using servers, even, high-performance computers. For JavaScript programmers, the thought of having to shift to Python is a nightmare. I have tried to run Python codes in Node.js, I was never able to make it work. You can skip this chapter if you want to start coding right away, and come back later. I do it all the time: jump chapters from book according to my mood, according to my interesting.

One of the best advise I have received is “focus on the principles, not on details”. I have kept this philosophy all over my career. I want to share this and similar advises that are important in coding. I expect readers of this book to be a public also from outside coding. In fact, I have received students online for learning Angular that are in most of the cases outside the academia, even outside programming. This means that those principles may support them to code, without needing to learn years and years of coding. Those are compilations from years of coding. I have started coding on academia, on the classroom.

I fear not the man who has practiced 10,000 kicks once, but I fear the man who has practiced one kick 10,000 times. Bruce Lee

It does not matter what choice you make, you may have advantages and disadvantages. If you are convinced to use Angular on your next projects, be aware of the limitations, and strengths. Choosing Angular, or any other alternative such as React.js, will come with pros and cons. Similar to TensorFlow.js. I am not trying to sell the idea that if you choose Angular/TensorFlow.js, the world will be perfect. TensorFlow.js has strong alternatives, such as TensorFlow in Python. All the alternatives currently are in Python. It is not about the choice you make, it is about how good you are at what you choose. This is why I like this quote from Bruce Lee I have started the section. Now with Large Language Models, you can code in any language. More than ever, be good at what you do.

You do not need to be good at all computer languages, at all machine learning frameworks, be good at one possible branch. I have chosen Angular and TensorFlow.js. This is what I am going to share with you.

In this case, “be good at” is not about one specific case. For instance, I have taught a person that worked on a startup. As soon as we finished our studies in Nest.js, she was moved to Python. In her case, due to work demands, she could not focus on a single language. For me, I want to write books, which means, it need to know what I am writing about. In one case, I must be good at what I teach, in detail, on her case, she must be good at shifting between different languages.

--

--

Jorge Guerra Pires, PhD
IdeaCoding Lab

Independent Researcher and writer at Amazon | “I want thinkers, not followers!” | More: https://linktr.ee/jorgeguerrapiresphd