“There are no two days that look the same for me”

idealolife
idealolife
Published in
4 min readSep 14, 2023

We had the pleasure of sitting down with Mihailo Bergman, Trainee in Affiliate Marketing at idealo to learn more about his journey at idealo and the exciting and diverse nature of his work within the marketing department.

What’s your Name and what do you do at idealo?

My name is Mihailo Bergman and since March 2023 I am a Trainee in the Affiliate and Cooperations Marketing Team. Prior to this role, I was working as a working student in the international department of idealo for Sales UK.

How would you explain your job to your parents?

As part of my role, I am responsible for managing and maintaining good relationships with important partners while also actively seeking new partnerships. In addition to this, I handle various creative tasks that go beyond my primary responsibilities. For instance, I have had the opportunity to speak at collab day events, create posters for other speakers, come up with slogans for banners, and take care of the idealo Private Network (IPN) LinkedIn page. My work is the perfect mix of technical, creative tasks as well as tasks and responsibilities that require strong negotiation and communication skills.

What do you think makes your work at idealo so exciting?

What motivates me is the fact that I feel like I am in a good environment, the marketing department, which is very diverse. It’s also the diversity of my tasks that motivates me because I don’t have two days that look the same and not too many repetitive tasks. There are a lot of things that come in unplanned but also some parts that are planned which focus on maintaining something that is already set. Besides that, it’s the closeness to other departments within marketing that gives me the opportunities to explore my creative sides as well. Also, I really enjoy the B2B partner-to-partner interaction — with all its different stages. Whether it involves negotiating, communicating, problem-solving, or brainstorming new projects. Just being able to engage in this kind of communication is the best part about my job. And that what makes me very enthusiastic about going to work every day.

What is a project you have recently worked on?

I was very happy about the opportunity to prepare a talk for our idealo Collaboration Day recently, which required a lot of time commitment. After my colleague suggested me to do it, I started brainstorming about ideas and came up with the idea to talk about Gen Z. However, I wanted to connect it with idealo so I came up with the topic: “The Revolution of Black Friday and how Gen Z is changing it”. I made sure to gather idealo data to back up the entire story and sought insights from various colleagues, including external communication managers, sustainability managers, diversity and inclusion managers, and more. Engaging in these conversations took up a significant portion of my time, but I thoroughly enjoyed the process. It was incredible to see my work so well-received and acknowledged. The appreciation and feedback made every moment and effort invested in this project worth it. It was for sure a highlight for me to be the first trainee ever to speak at an idealo Collaboration Day.

Is there anything about you that has been particularly formative for your personal development at idealo?

Back when I was a working student, my colleague Carmen gave me one of the best advice I’ve received during my career so far: She told me that I should consider moving into marketing and encouraged me to reach out to different people in the company. So, I scheduled 1-on-1s and/or working sessions with people from various areas of the company to get a full picture of their work. This allowed me to figure out for myself that marketing was indeed the best option for me. I was lucky that my current position was open when I was looking for my next step after graduating. So, she definitely influenced me. But to be honest, so did many other colleagues at one point or another as everyone at idealo is very open and generally happy when you show interest in what they do and ask about it. They are willing to tell you more about it and to help you navigate corporate life.

Can you describe your initial impressions and experiences upon joining idealo?

Prior to joining idealo, I gained experience (in Germany) working in a small startup. However, transitioning to idealo was a remarkable shift for me, as it was my first opportunity to work with a major international company, both in terms of its size and the cultural context that differed from my previous work experiences. When it comes to idealo I was amazed about walking in that amazing building and getting all the equipment, the nice onboarding process, the flexibility making it very easy to combine work and studies. My education came first. Idealo never tried to come between me and my studies.

What would you tell someone who is undecided if they should work at idealo?

I would advise them to apply because idealo is a very good employer. Working here comes with so many benefits and flexibility which makes it a great place to work. One of the things that are most important is just how supportive idealo is with your development and how willing it is to provide the resources you need to develop. That is definitely the best part of it for me and what I think makes it a great employer.

Thank you, Mihailo!

Ready to start your own journey at idealo? Check out our open positions here.

--

--

idealolife
idealolife

Check out the #idealolife! 🙌 Find out what's going on behind the scenes of idealo - one of Europe's leading price comparison platforms. http://bit.ly/3KlQR2P