Photo by Paul Green on Unsplash

WaaS

Jitesh Vyas
Ideas and Words
Published in
2 min readSep 18, 2017

--

The public bathroom experience is the most uncomfortable part of going just about anywhere. I can point to comfortable bathroom experiences in Dubai’s high end hotels and Singapore’s Changi Airport…and that’s about it.

The worst experience I’ve had was at a pilgrimage site in India, and I think that’s all I need to say about that. But they did have a guy enforcing a 1 rupee maintenance fee, like many public facilities do nowadays. I’m uncertain the funds went towards maintenance because of objective evidence, but it got me thinking…

Washrooms, like NCAA athletes, take shit all day and make no money at all.

What if washrooms were offered as a service. WaaS, anyone? Property management companies are responsible for washrooms, but what if this was outsourced to a contracting third party — like an advertising company?

I know what you’re thinking:

https://twitter.com/fmbutt/status/905899947333222400

In the same way, advertising companies doing washrooms doesn’t seem like a great fit. But there’s a lot of advertising potential inside washrooms that property management companies can’t capitalize on since they’re not advertising companies, and I think that’s a bigger mismatch.

Viacom does send someone to manage and maintain their billboards. In the same way, if they could offer to take care of washrooms for a property management company, I think the quality of washrooms can improve and they open up another advertising service for their existing clients.

If washrooms start making money, I’m sure they’d be cared about a bit more, and we wouldn’t dread every single public washroom experience.

--

--

Jitesh Vyas
Ideas and Words

I’m interested in understanding what inspires people to do the things they do. Views are my own.