Mental Wellbeing

How to Build Resilience to Get through Difficult Times

Lessons I’ve Learned to Cope with Life’s Struggles

Ayesha Tariq
Ideas at Work
Published in
4 min readDec 15, 2020

--

Photo by i yunmai on Unsplash

Everyone’s life comes with its fair share of struggles. For some it’s more than others and for many coping with the challenge is exactly that… a challenge.

I don’t presume to know your pain or what you’re going through. Everyone has a different story. What I do hope is that sharing my own tips may help you in some little way.

Resilience is my favorite word. The truth is not all of us can always be strong. We can’t always be happy. But, what we can strive for is survival. It gives me hope that we can live to fight another day.

Here are some things I’ve learned on my path to resilience and I hope they can inspire you too.

Be Happy on Your Own

This is one of the most important things to learn and we’ve done so painfully this year.

Humans are social animals and we don’t do well alone. Solitary confinement is the harshest form of prison, so why would anyone want to subject themselves to that. Still, while we are made to have family, friends and lovers, we shouldn’t relinquish control to them. We should depend on other people for our happiness.

--

--

Ayesha Tariq
Ideas at Work

Mother | Macro & Investment Strategist | Co-Founder, MacroVisor | Contributor on Bloomberg & Fox Business | Ex Corporate Banker