What to Do When Your Idea is Already Taken

No idea is unique anymore. That shouldn’t stop you from writing.

Ayesha Tariq
Ideas at Work

--

Photo by JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

The chances are every idea you come up with is already taken. Sometimes I feel like writers are reading my mind. I’m thinking of an idea and then bam, someone beats me to the punch and writes about it. I’m pretty sure the person doesn’t have access to my draft folders. Yet, there it is, the post I was drafting, down to almost the exact same title.

The truth is with all the content out there, unique ideas are few and far between. I hate to break it to you, none of us are original. While we all take pride in assuming that we are all the original model, there are others just like us out there. They are called humans. Many of us have the same kind of exposure, similar set of values and surprisingly similar upbringing, regardless of which part of the world we hail from. This leads to having similar ideas, thought processes and tastes. In fact, the worldwide consumer goods industry counts on this.

So what do you do when you have an idea and you find that it’s already taken?

First, don’t read the other person’s post

Second, publish your post anyway.

Don’t Read Posts with Ideas Similar to Yours

--

--

Ayesha Tariq
Ideas at Work

Mother | Macro & Investment Strategist | Co-Founder, MacroVisor | Contributor on Bloomberg & Fox Business | Ex Corporate Banker