Why You Should Write Even If you Don’t Have Any Writing Goals

Starting on the Journey can Help You Figure Out Your Way

Ayesha Tariq
Ideas at Work

--

Photo by Kaitlyn Baker on Unsplash

When I started writing for Medium, I didn’t think much about writing strategy. I didn’t plan on pitching to publications, or writing for a popular genre. I didn’t even bother to explore how the publications work. I was a paid reader but I couldn’t sign up for the MPP because I couldn’t sort out my Stripe bank account.

All I knew is that I wanted to write. I’d been writing for a long time but, sporadically. I lost interest in building my blog or rather, it became too time-consuming for me. But, here was a platform with an audience just waiting to read your writing (provided you write something of value, of course!). The best part was that it was all so easy. I was already signed up, all I needed to do was write a story and hit publish. And hit publish, I did.

Lo and behold, my writing got picked up by a publication, and a popular one at that. Now, this really piqued my interest. What if I did it again? So I did. I wrote, and I got published again!

So I kept writing, until one day I stopped. I didn’t know what to write because I had no strategy. I thought I had to figure out my niche, and where I wanted to position myself. All this thinking, stopped me from hitting the…

--

--

Ayesha Tariq
Ideas at Work

Mother | Macro & Investment Strategist | Co-Founder, MacroVisor | Contributor on Bloomberg & Fox Business | Ex Corporate Banker