Productive Time 

or is the big screen that good

Kieran
2 min readNov 11, 2013

I have a kick ass Thunderbolt display.

When clients, visitors come into my office they look at it and think it is amazing.

But when I curl up in corners, couches and spaces with the actual Macbook Pro and one window and start writing I am much more productive. I think there are a lot of reasons but I think the main ones (for me) are the following.

  1. I think that the unibody keyboard of the Macbook Pro is really tactile and easy to type on. My Apple wireless keyboard is fine but not great. I would love one with the same touch as the one on the Macbook Pro. When I sit in a dark living room with headphones on and the rest of the house is doing various online / TV / Netflix things I can type quickly with it and it the keyboard lights up in a cool manner.
  2. One screen really is all you can concentrate on at any one time. There are thousands of studies to prove it. shut off everything else focus on the one task. The Thunderbolt is great as you can have multiple windows and perhaps Spaces can help there. But with the Macbook Pro high res screen you can be comfy and see an amazing display for that one task that you should be focused on (with Spotify in the background of course!).
  3. I know the Macbook Air is meant to be super light and I don’t doubt it but the Macbook Pro is plenty light for me and its footprint (I have the 15") is perfect for my knee.
  4. I can move around with it and continue working. I have often taken it in my car and worked with it on my lap while waiting for someone (sad I know but I am a computer geek at heart and it is far better than listening to the radio)

So viva la small screen — small is beautiful.

--

--

Kieran

Hi I'm Kieran. Grange Design create amazing website solutions and help market your business online.