A Surprising, Inspiring, Mind-Blowing Kinda Year

Looking back at 2021 with an eye towards the ways we’ve changed

Emily Davalos
Friday
8 min readDec 15, 2021

--

Illustrations by David Espinosa Alvarez

Year’s end is a time for looking back on all that was unexpected, inspiring, thought-provoking, challenging and uplifting. As 2021 draws to a close, we invite you to join us in reflecting on memorable experiences and important takeaways from the last twelve months and to share how you prepare for a new year.

Reflection #1: What’s one interesting thing or valuable lesson you learned this year?

Finding an activity that makes you feel strong and healthy and then consistently carving out time to do it is essential.
–Kate Vaulter

I’ve learned that both kindness and grace are in order as people are struggling. –Dr. Jeffrey Hunt

I learned how much creativity and inspiration flourishes in adventures outside of the home. Getting back out a bit after isolating at home showed me how many little day to day things can spur delight and good ideas. Especially experiencing art at a gallery or museum. MK Cook

I’ve learned to be less afraid of losses and setbacks. It’s helped me be more curious about the lessons that hard things can teach us about ourselves, who we’re becoming, and how we want to show up in the world.
–Austin Dannhaus

I’ve been reminded of the power of team and the importance of building trust and relationships. We are a remote company with fast moving projects and the time we take with one another and with our clients to answer a silly check-in question, play a game, or catch up on holiday plans pays off in stronger collaboration and free flowing of ideas. –Annie Crangle

Reflection #2: What’s one thing that surprised you this year?

The labor force re-evaluating the value of 9–5 jobs and walking away from those types of commitments for flexible and creative opportunities.
–Dr. Jeffrey Hunt

How humans seem to prefer things to be complicated.
–Marion Riggs

I focused a lot on wellness this year. I continue to be surprised as I learn just how tied together the mind, body, and spirit are. I guess you really are what you eat — from the actual food to the intangible stuff, like how you spend your time. MK Cook

Our small team’s ability to consistently produce thoughtful work for our clients while also being super personable and respectful of life needs. This year has been a rollercoaster, but my team has been such a rock of support. –Hillary Çelebi

That blessings will find you through good people.
–Bryanna Brown

Reflection #3: What’s something that a client or colleague did that blew you away or something they said that was memorable?

One of the schools I work with requested that we add a question about LGBTQ+ identity to our Highlight equity survey. It’s not every client that comes back to us with ways to improve our representation of diverse communities, and it’s endlessly inspiring to know we work with the types of organizations that care deeply about their work and their communities. –Liz Farrell

As a new mom, I’ve been surprised and incredibly grateful how clients have been encouraging and supportive as I venture into parenthood — sharing advice, favorite books, asking for photo updates, and not blinking an eye when I’d show up on Zoom wearing a baby carrier. Bringing our whole selves to our work makes our partnerships stronger. –Emily Davalos

Hearing our client say “I don’t know, that’s a good question.” That simple phrase lets me know we’re unearthing something they may not have addressed or fully thought about. It is both a humble remark and an indication that we have something further to dig into.
— Anthony Rodriguez

While working with John Muir Charter School to review their Fall administration of Highlight, the level of depth the JMCS team took to explore the data and find opportunities to uplift students voices immediately after the meeting. The level of commitment of each team member to use data to drive change blew me away. –Bryanna Brown

Reflection #4: What’s a personal accomplishment or highlight from this year?

Improving my Spanish has been a huge accomplishment, since we want our daughter to feel connected to her family in Mexico. I’ve been learning songs and nursery rhymes, reading books, and practicing with my husband and extended family.
–Emily Davalos

I was so thrilled to see the launch of Edgility Consulting’s new website and to have been a part of bringing who they are and what they believe in to life.
–Elizabeth Cameron

Being a dog owner (finally); and trying to keep my dog’s personality separated from mine (and vice versa). –Marion Riggs

Creating and project managing our strategic work for a consortium of seven K-12 schools in Indiana. It takes a lot of coordination and foresight to plan in-person, virtual, and hybrid activities, let alone develop a process to stay on top of all the moving pieces. That, and my election to the Coro Northern California Board of Directors. –Anthony Rodriguez

I’ve recently taken up tennis. My wife is an incredible tennis player, and I’ve always wanted to learn. It was been incredible to be a beginner and rediscover the joy (and frustration!) that comes with learning something new. –Austin Dannhaus

Reflection #5: What’s something you read/watched/listened to/were inspired by this year?

Know Your Price: Value Black Lives and Property in America’s Black Cities by Andre Perry has inspired me. –Bryanna Brown

Glennon Doyle’s podcast We Can Do Hard Things: all about speaking up and talking through everyday things that we struggle with instead of barreling through it all in silence. And You Are Your Best Thing: Vulnerability, Shame Resilience, and the Black Experience edited by Tarana Burke and Brené Brown: A collection of essays and stories that highlight the struggles and triumphs of being vulnerable. –Hillary Çelebi

Two Distant Strangers — short, powerful, memorable. Watch it.
–Annie Crangle

You Should See Me in a Crown by Leah Johnson. As a woman of color who grew up (and still lives) in Indiana, where the novel is set, so much of it resonated with me. It’s exciting to see these kinds of smart, witty books that deal with self-love and acceptance being written for YA audiences. Kate Vaulter

This year for Friendsgiving, I really wanted to find a poem or reading I could use to recognize the historical and cultural significance of the holiday, and especially Native American Heritage Day. I found the poem, “Thanksgiving in the Anthropocene”, and have re-read it several times since then. It’s incredibly thoughtful, and gives me goosebumps every time I read it. –Liz Farrell

John Lewis: Good Trouble. What a courageous, stubborn, kind and humorous man! –Marion Riggs

Reflection #6: What are you optimistic about?

I’m optimistic about the growing recognition and commitment to doing something about the ways in which our nation’s child care system (or lack thereof) is creating social and economic inequities. –Elizabeth Cameron

I’m optimistic about the benefits of educational innovations that were forced upon us by the pandemic (hybrid learning, school choice, technology integration). –Dr. Jeffrey Hunt

I’m optimistic that the questions we are asking about the society we want to (re)build will lead to lasting change. From our relationship with work and our commitment to mental health to shoring up our democracy and reckoning with our past — I’m hopeful we’ll come out on the other side stronger, healthier, more compassionate, and better connected.
–Austin Dannhaus

I am optimistic about having some travel adventures and maybe, just maybe, getting to go out dancing with friends.
MK Cook

My 9-year-old niece, Grace, who has an increasing number of powerful and diverse women to look up to in sports, business, and government. And Klay Thompson’s return and the Warriors’ playoff prospects.
–Annie Crangle

Reflection #7: What’s one thing you will do to recharge your batteries and get ready for a new year?

Treats. Sleep. Repeat.
–Coach, the dog

Turn my phone off and go hiking with my dog. There’s something incredibly freeing about leaving your phone at home and getting lost for a couple of hours (of course, always tell a friend where you’re going to be if you’re going off the grid!)
–Liz Farrell

Family time. I’m really looking forward to being with my extended family, some of whom I haven’t seen for over two years, and with my husband and kids. Play board games, bake cookies, and watch Elf for the 1000th time. Kate Vaulter

Fully sign off during our holiday office closure and go on a long solo hike or bike ride. Anthony Rodriguez

Spending time in the Eastern Sierra without my laptop. –Emily Davalos

Dance. –Hillary Çelebi

Friday partners with mission-driven companies, nonprofits, schools, and the public sector to reimagine their work, tell their story, and expand their impact. Get stories like this one, along with inspiration from the world of social-impact strategy and graphic design, by subscribing to Friday’s monthly newsletter.

--

--

Emily Davalos
Friday

Working at the intersection of community, education & economic opportunity. | Partner @ Friday. www.friday.us