Michael Piña: 30-Second Q&A

Emily Davalos
Friday
Published in
2 min readOct 8, 2021

We asked Michael Piña, President & CEO of Central Valley Scholars, what she’s been listening to, reading, and considering this month.

Current book you’re reading?
Pedagogy Of The Oppressed by Paulo Freire. I read this book in small sections, and in those short pages I learn so much. I now understand that the mere survival of systemic forms of oppression creates a high level of intelligence that traditional education institutions fail to cultivate. With this intelligence, marginalized peoples have all the power to set the conditions for a new life; a life in which they organize themselves and their communities to escape the harsh conditions they currently face.

Favorite podcast?
“We Are Not Strangers Here: African American Histories in Rural California” by Dr.Caroline Collins. As I continue my passions and work in the Central Valley, it is imperative that I learn the history of African-Americans in rural communities and their impact on our communities.

A daily routine that helps to keep you going as a leader?
Jogging, skincare, and spending time with my dog!

Newsletter to subscribe to?
ChangeLawyers. Love their work and webinars.

Interesting idea that has struck you recently?
Language is much more than what we read and write, it’s how we understand ourselves and the world around us. I’ve been super interested in the term “Latinx”, and while it is inclusive to non-male genders, some argue that its origins came from white elitist academics. “Latinx” pronunciation may be confusing for Spanish speakers, and “Latine” can possibly be a better alternative.

What are you optimistic about? It’s hard continuing my work, and realizing how deep systemic forms of oppression lie in many of the institutions we are forced to operate in. But the sense of power and love that comes when I organize with my community is like no other. When I stand within my community in the Central Valley, I feel hope; I feel optimistic that together we can create a world in which we are all free.

For more inspiration from the world of social impact strategy and design, subscribe to Friday’s monthly newsletter.

--

--

Emily Davalos
Friday
Editor for

Working at the intersection of community, education & economic opportunity. | Partner @ Friday. www.friday.us