Zion Campo on Tech in Government, the Bohol Community, and Why Pokémon Should Come to Life

Kimberly Go
#IdeasToReality Startup Stories
3 min readSep 6, 2016

This is the fourth article from our weekly series featuring IdeaSpace’s five brand ambassadors.

Brand Ambassador Zion Campo, 21, first got involved in his local community when he joined the 1st Startup Weekend Bohol.

Zion Campo, 21, is a Bohol-based freelancer who is an active member of Bohol Bloggers Collective and helped organize Startup Weekend Bohol 2. He is also a storyteller at TarsierTimes.

I talked to Zion to find out how he thinks technopreneurship will shape the country, how he wants to put Bohol on the map for innovation, and how he would like to see Pokémon come to life.

Kimberly: Why did you decide to become an IdeaSpace Brand Ambassador?

Zion: I was a Startup Weekend Organizer here in Bohol this 2016 and I wanted to level up the local tech community here in Bohol. I thought IdeaSpace was a great partner in putting Bohol in the Philippines innovation map. I’m personally unsure if I’m fit for the position as an IdeaSpace Ambassador but when I (visited) Manila, the other IdeaSpace Ambassadors and IdeaSpace itself inspired me that there isn’t such thing as being ready, all you have to do is just do it.

What role do you think technopreneurship plays in the Philippines?

Technopreneurship is another driver of growth in the Philippines. I believe that if the government and the private sector adapt technology, not only will we hasten the snail paced development of the Philippines, we will also be able to patch bureaucratic loopholes and red tape considerably.

How did you get involved in your local community?

I joined the 1st Startup Weekend Bohol and the rest is history.

What’s the best thing about your local community?

Our community is still small. There are still a lot of untapped opportunities there. Doors that need opening. We’re all committed to making Bohol great. We want to see the Boholanos beam with pride when they talk about Bohol.

How would you like to contribute as an IdeaSpace Ambassador?

I want to grow the community here in Bohol. Help usher jobs in Bohol by helping market our province as investment worthy. Help people realize the potential of entrepreneurship and technopreneurship. And most especially I want to help the people themselves grow personally.

What advice do you have to technopreneurs just starting out?

Nike said it best, just do it.

Now onto a round of quick-fire questions. What inspires you to get out of bed in the morning?

My family, my adorable pamangkin, and my dream to become the next President of the Philippines.

What business would you love to start?

A food redistribution startup called SobraSaver. I was able to talk to Rachel of Cropital and was amazed that their original idea wasn’t really what Cropital is now. Their startup idea actually evolved. It’s amazing how one idea helped reinvent an industry because a group of people were committed to making it happen.

What crazy new invention do you want to see built by the year 2050?

Pokémon and Avatar in real life, or just VR maybe. It would be cool to have arenas where players could actually battle with Pokémon just like in the series and shoot fireballs and activate the avatar state in an Avatar match.

If you could have a conversation with anyone, alive or dead, who would it be and why?

I’d like to talk to my grandparents that passed away before I ever met them. I want to thank them for raising my parents into loving people.

--

--