Crowdsourcing within a Digital Agency

Bringing across various facets of Talent with Optimum Communication!

Rumana Shaikh
Ideastation
3 min readApr 18, 2017

--

A Wednesday evening, almost about the time for tea, Iced tea for the summer laziness!

An urgent client request- “Hey! So we were thinking with the latest update that we are rolling out, we can also include the Video Player!”

As my favourite Nike says- ‘Just Do It!’

POA- Plan of Action -Love this term!
There is nothing you can deliver until you know the aesthetics of what you need to deliver! I’m not a coder, nor a designer! I’m Digital Marketer also involved in Project Management alongside.

First things First- Let’s design!

I use the resources at my disposal. Before everyone shows up in the coffee area, I have already set up the whiteboard and wired my brains to a productive meeting while sipping the Lemon Ice Tea and getting the best of all the brains!

The conversation goes like this:

“So let’s play this game today- If you get to design your video player, what would it be like?”

There comes “Pause/ Play/ Full Screen!” “I’d want a Volume bar and also the timeline!” “Can we have a ‘Download Offline’ button?” “If I can browse while still watching the video!” “Can I also Chromecast the video?” “I’d love the Cinema Mode on!” “It should allow me to add to a playlist while in full screen”

“How about a Sound Equaliser? I should get to change my sound settings per se the content I’m watching!”

Chipped in the designer: “Thematic colouring!” What’s that? Allow my webpage and video buttons to change colours according to the colours of the video!

Woah!!

So here’s the design requirement in place- discussed and finalised within 30 short minutes- Crowdsourced I must remark!

Crowdsourcing Ideas for an Amazing Music Player!!

Designer at Work

With all the recommendations in place, the designer had started focusing on bringing out something unique in the ordinary. In something as less than 2 hours there it was a design ready to be implemented by the developer!

But Coding ain’t a child’s play! Or shall we say otherwise?

Before I leave for the day on Wednesday- I had two tasks completed from my POA. The discussion was done, the designs were ready.

Now I did know that the day is ending and ideally I should email this to Jayesh, our lead front end developer, the next morning!

But I’d taken a chance here! I walked to his desk with the iPad ready with the design and shared the design with Jayesh! Now I wanted to get his perspective on the design, but at the same time, I had planted a small seed in his mind about this Video Player in making.

Customer delight starts from Source delight! If your resources are not delighted with their work, there are no delighted customers in making!

The next morning even before I had reached work, Jayesh was all prepped on how to go about developing the video player!

That evening we delivered the Video Player in the shortest time possible and a praiseworthy piece of work! Our clients were delighted with our timeliness

If you are from the same field you’ll know that finishing this entire task in little time possible is quite a challenge. But if crowdsourced smartly it becomes one of the best solutions ever!

Go ahead and try it! It works! Brilliantly! And if you think you can’t yet… contact Jetbro!

--

--

Rumana Shaikh
Ideastation

The only freedom is the freedom to allow yourself to be the best version of self, and hence allow change. Ponder, read, write, explore and grow.