Research for Design Final Reflection

Ruiyang Dai
Ideation & Prototyping
3 min readDec 17, 2021

First of all, congratulations to ourselves, we did it!

Now looking back at our team’s project, the whole process actually was a long way. We had many meetings, many discussions, and finally had this outcome. Thanks for the efforts of my best teammates. In fact, I’m not particularly familiar with how to do a UX design, through this project I’ve also gained a better understanding of UX design, and some of my teammates are really good at UX, and their work has taught me a lot, such as what the workflow is like after the research, what specific content we need to produce, and how to use some amazing features of Figma.

After listening to the presentations of the other groups, I found that our research revealed a same issue, is the lack of information and positive feedback from the environment for the gender minority group, which often leads them to not trust many providers, so they are not very active in consulting on health issues. I’m glad to see that we all have different ideas coming from a similar starting point. Our projects were actually all more or less connected, and at the class before Thanksgiving when I heard Team 3’s presentation, I realized that actually many of the ideas I personally generated at that time were very similar to theirs, and although we moved to different directions later, as they said in their final presentation, our group and their group could even collaborate and make something.

The process and results of the other groups also inspired me a lot, including their design process, unique ideas, group division of work, etc. I was impressed by the video that Vasu showed during their presentation. That section was very clear and Vasu controlled the pace of the video and presentation very well. Everyone really did a good job!

Here are some reflections of the feedback on our presentation.

Regarding the reason for using the chat box, it’s true that we needed to explain more in the presentation to make the audience understand our intentions clearly. I think this is a very common mistake when presenting a project, sometimes the idea is generated naturally, as the producers of the project, we know very well about how the idea came out, however, when we try to tell our story to others, we will usually ignore some details, because we think that’s how things just happen, but in fact the audience doesn’t know anything about the process. To master the skill of telling the story clearly does require more practice.

There are also some presentation tips, like facing the audience, keeping relaxed, and I think I’m learning more presentation skills and experience through many hands-on exercises.

The class review photos at the end of the class really pulled me back in time. Just believe that every step we took was meaningful, and we will see that meaning someday.

--

--