Time Capsule Part 1

Maria Tomilenko
Ideation & Prototyping
4 min readOct 21, 2021

This assignment took me on a trip down the memory lane and brought up many associations from the past. In looking around my apartment I was seeking objects that brought warm feelings and made me think of the people I care for. I also wanted to include items that shaped my identity in some way or another and I came up with an interesting composition of items. I chose Instagram as a way to convey the story about my objects primarily because this is the medium I use to share my personal experiences and impressions with my friends and family, even my grandmother follows me and interacts via the platform. I shared information about the items in the individual posts and created a narrative through the Stories feature to supplement the description with images of people associated with the objects I chose. In the process I kept on reflecting on the fact that many of our stories get forgotten and lost. Even though I use Instagram to create a form of a historical reference to events in my life, this representation of my experience is quite ephemeral. I don’t have an issue with impermanence of memories, but in working on this project I thought of ways in which we can pass our stories on. I rediscovered how objects can become powerful symbols that we choose to enhance with meaning and gained appreciation of preserving experiences through physical items that have been a part of the moment.

My 5 objects were:

  1. My mother’s ring that was gifted to her by my dad and I for her birthday and then regifted to me. It was a first kind of familial artifact that our family created. I view it as a symbol of love and care, as well as a talisman of protection.
  2. Sunglasses that I bought with my brother in NYC and have worn pretty much every day since. Dreamers are often said to be seeing the world through a pink lens and I really like the metaphor. My pink lenses always make me think of the sunny day I spent with my brother and every time I wear them my day becomes a little brighter. It is a reminder to stay positive and enhance the world with colors.
  3. A lego whale made and gifted to me by my best friend carries several meanings. Primarily it is an object that connects me to my inner child and reminds me of a close friend who lives across the ocean. Secondarily, it always makes me think of my siblings who are very close to my best friend. She became like a sister to them and sees them much more than I do as they live in the same city. This object fuses warm feelings I have about my friends and family.
  4. A mini palette knife represents my artistic self and a creative journey through the years. Art hast been in my life since I was five years old and shaped my identity to a great extent. This artifact is a key to my exploration of art and self expression.
  5. My business card that includes the first logo of a signature that I designed builds on top of object #4 representing an accomplishment of sophistication in my skill and artistic definition. I think finding a signature helps one come a step closer to understanding themselves. I reached that point during the summer of 2020 and it has been a very important moment in my life.

Instagram Story LINK

--

--