Time Capsule Part 2

Yao Zhou
Ideation & Prototyping
5 min readOct 26, 2021

“Time and reflection change the sight little by little ’til we come to understand.”

- Paul Cezanne

As we continue the Time Capsule series, this week we will begin prototyping the time capsule that carries the items selected in Part 1.

I had previously chosen 3 items for my Time Capsule and, although they come from personal belongings, I did not intend to make it overly personal. Instead, I believe individual stories speak to the bigger picture more than personal memories, and personal memories are powerful tools for carrying on big life events. The purpose of creating a time capsule is to create an emotional connection with other people instead of just putting my own secret out there to gain attention. In my role as a designer, my priority is to make it intuitive, perceptible, and flexible, which meets 3 of the 7 principles of Universal Design.

1. Metaphor and design implications of three items.

  • Camera SD card: Its primary function to store images and videos, it can also be used to store other kinds of information. Essentially, it’s a form of storage, small yet capable of storing a large amount of information that will be needed in the future, not just now. It’s portable, transferable, and private.
  • Birth control pill blister pack: Hormonal birth control pills work upon women’s menstrual cycle, it needs to be taken on time, and continuously. The design of the package is also concise. The active pills and placebo pills are made in different colors, and each pill pack shows a weekly marker. My interpretation is that it is a women’s monthly hormone cycle calendar, it helps women to be rigid about taking pills. It’s informative and habit-forming.
  • Vaccination record card: The vaccination is a vital step in combating the global pandemic, and this card serves as documentation for the vaccine, as well as an identification card. The reason why I chose this object for my time capsule is that it represents an unforgettable period in my life, and it is a collective experience shared by everyone in the world today. However, each individual experienced the pandemic differently, and there are probably many unknown stories behind every vaccination record card.

2. Building a Structure

I want the three objects to help me think of the structure of this time capsule. And I found myself obsessed with the word “capsule”.

Apparently, the capsule concept has become a popular trend in design, focusing on transforming spaces and putting out unconventional formats. However, without a concise measurement of the time period, I can’t decide how much to include in the capsule or whether it can fit.

To solve this problem, I must point out that memory and time are two separate concepts. Not all the time we spent in the past has been turned into memories, and memory can also extend the significance of certain events.

My inspiration comes from Harry Potter’s “Memory Charm”.

image source

Memory Charm is a magic spell that erases a person’s memories from his head.

Oppositely, I wanted to create a system that would help people retrieve memories from the past.

3. Prototyping

  • I chose to use the calendar because it’s a universal time indicator, so no matter where my audience comes from, they should be able to figure it out.
  • I decided to use capsules as memory containers. Each capsule consists of memories of real people, and when it’s taken orally, it appears in your sight.
  • I used cardboard to make the calendar, and I used some pills from medication bottles as my capsules.

I was surprised by how many pill bottles I have in my drawer. Some I don’t take every day, but I need them for physical and biological maintenance. I have no idea when I started needing caffeine pills and melatonin to feel energized and well-rested. Our generation may be over medicated due to a range of reasons, and sometimes I wonder how these chemical ingredients end up in our systems. As a part of my time capsule, I have to encode these pills, as they may unconsciously contribute to who I am.

Final Prototype

Starting from now on, you’ll create a time capsule for every day of your life, your experiences, your feelings will be compressed into a tiny capsule. The capsule will allow you to relive past memories and understand how you got here.

By using this system I hope people are able to live in the present, to wake up each day and feeling grateful for the life we have, while still being able to learn from the past and reflect on old times.

--

--