Time Capsule Part I

Ruobing Su
Ideation & Prototyping
5 min readOct 21, 2021

I used to call myself a storyteller before when I was still in the journalism industry, which I still do, in a way, but a visual storyteller rather than just written stories. When it comes to the Time Capsule assignment, it took me quite a while to think about what and how to represent myself with items, and how are they connected and linked to me, and what I feel. I decide to choose something in my room that would give me different feelings every time when I use or think about them.

Santal Vanilla Reed Diffuser

This is my recent favorite reed diffuser by the bed, which isn’t too strong but a very calming and warm woody note of Santal with a bit sweet and creaminess vanilla brings. This makes me feel like I am sitting by a campfire in a forest during a summer night. I like my room to be scented and sensational that it relaxes me down and makes me feel home and comfortable. This diffuser ideally sits beside my bed and pats me into sleep, which I really enjoyed the peacefulness and calmness it brings to me to dream.

Massage stick

I guess I’m getting older, or just that I am sitting in front of the computer more than often since COVID, my neck and back start to get stiffer and stiffer. I bought this massage stick from Line friends several years ago, but haven’t been actively using it since last year. It looks useless, but it is something that really makes my back and neck relax from so much typing and tension with computer works. I like how this massage stick helps me to find my real body and its problem even just by randomly massaging myself, and it give me a nice stress relief by giving me the opportunity to listen to my body.

Candle warmer

This is something new I just got that makes me feel at home that it creates the candle lights that remind me of the time that my parents would always have some candles in the cabinet just in case we went out of power. I chose a forest scent candle to put on the warmer so it creates a sensational scent in my room that feels like nature. I like this candle warmer because it gives me two ways of relaxation, a feeling of home and being loved, and a feeling of nature and wood.

Stress cloud

This is another toy that I enjoyed to release my anger, annoy and unhappiness. It is a stress cloud that I helped to design for one of the companies I worked with as a marketing assistant. It’s not like the other stress balls that are easy to squishy — this one is pretty tough and I really need to use a lot of strength to squeeze it — but I like it. When I get too anxious and annoyed, I always wanted to release those negative emotions so I can go back on track and keep working on whatever I was working on. When I “used up” all my strength to squeeze my stress cloud, all the negativity is being squeezed out too, as if they are not here anymore. I feel super released and relaxed, and am able to do whatever I should be doing.

Google Home Mini

Nature sounds calm me down. Every now and then, I like to ask Google to play some nature sound instead of pop music when I am working or studying. The power of nature is amazing that every time when I listen to the sound of waves, streams, rains and anything water-related, it makes me so comfortable that I can concentrate as the sound peace out, rather than getting hyper and hyper when pop music is playing.

Non-caffeinated Teabags

The last item in my time capsule is[are] a bunch of non-caffeinated teabags, yes, it is specific. Caffeine keeps me vertical, but also more anxious and stressed. I love these non-caffeinated teabags from Korea: rice cracker tea, barley tea, and corn tea in particular. Those help me to keep on track with my drinking habit without giving me extra stress and anxiety, which sometimes works way better than coffee in the afternoon.

Relax_your_days

I also created an Instagram page called “relax_your_days” that I was hoping I can collect my ways to relax and put them into a collection for the future me or someone else, to release the anger, annoy and stress from the body, and really let the body float in the air and enjoy the life with all the positive emotions and attitudes.

I like this opportunity to make me walk around my room and think about what each item really means to me — and it is already a time capsule that I think about how the items connect with me and what they remind me of my personality, my past, and my stories. I might keep adding new items to my time capsule, but I really enjoyed the process of thinking about the meaning of the item and me and their relationship.

--

--