Time Capsule Part I

Viktoriia Zykina
Ideation & Prototyping
3 min readOct 21, 2021

For this week’s assignment I had to find several objects that I would put in a a time capsule for future generations.

To be honest, I did not even think long, because my biggest hobby is baking! So I decided it to be my topic for the time capsule and selected 5 objects that I think would be interesting for future generation to discover since they reflect my personality, my language, as well as, some interests of my generation.

I had to keep in mind that they should be understandable for somebody who would find it, it should have some meaning and reflect something, it should also fit into a box, these were my constrains.

So here are the objects that I selected and curated:

  1. A cake recipe book written in Russian.
  2. A silicone mat for baking with Darth Vader.
  3. A rolling pin
  4. Harry Potter cookie cutter (golden snitch)
  5. Squid game inspired cookie cutter.

I wrote stories about each of these objects, explained my choice and what each item means to me and how they could reflect end of 20-th, beginning of 21-th century. Then I posted them on Instagram:

https://www.instagram.com/vikabakess/

Reflection

As I was selecting objects and describing their importance to me and to the future generations (or whoever opens the time capsule in the future), I realized how many things in my life shaped my personality, how many things inspired me to keep exploring my interests. I thought of how many approaches I could to this time capsule project (I have many other hobbies to choose from or I could take a memorabilia route), but I think I realized what it really important to me and dear to my heart and I was surprised that the things I like and use may actually be useful for others to learn about our world and culture. Also, we are emotional creatures, so we usually tie some memories, moments, sensations to some objects and they become “alive” to us.

--

--