Identity of Identity Design

A little bit about me and this publication

Akihiro Takeuchi
Identity Design
2 min readMar 18, 2018

--

What is this publication?

This is a personal publication by Akihiro Takeuchi, a Japanese independent graphic designer specialized in making visual identity design, currently living in France.
In this publication, Not only I collect nice identity design projects from the world and saying from other designers for myself to remember, but also I share my thoughts on identity design.

Little things about me

I’m passionate about helping people to find the differences and uniquenesses of them and visualizing it in a simple but distinctive shape. We call it “ Identity Design”. I’ve created logos and visual identities for international companies to activities of one in more than 10 countries, since around 2010.

Although I was majored in economics at university, I’ve been always interested in making something. But I knew that I was not the type of artist, which means creating something from my own passion, and for myself. As you may know, but design is creating something, no matter what form it takes, for someone else. So I started studying graphic design at a design school in night, while I was working at cafe during the day. During that period, some of my colleges who were actor or musicien asked me to make designs for them, like flyers and CD jackets. It was around 2010. I started as independent from the beginning.

After living in Tokyo, I came to France in 2017 with my french girlfriend( now she is my wife). Now I’m working specially on identity design.

Why identity design?

On 11th march 2011, maybe you know, a huge earthquake struck on Japan. After that, I was thinking what can I do more for the society and people, rather than for commercializing. This is why I started Koinobori-man project in Kazo, my home town to encourage the citizen to do their own projects while melting their hearts with its cutes.

And also, since everything has entity was disrupted by Tsunami, I was fascinated by the things which DON’T have entities. Tsunami destroy homes, families, keepsakes. But tsunami can’t destroy identity. Identity could take formes but in ideological ones. This is why I started to focus on designing identity.

--

--