Introvert

Accepting that I’m an introvert and not force myself to become outgoing is so liberating.

Arnold Gamboa
One Point
1 min readNov 30, 2022

--

Start Up Weekend, Oct. 2011

Accepting that I’m an introvert and not force myself to become outgoing is so liberating.

Quick introvert story. During the early 2010s, I immersed myself in the early stage tech start-up community. In those days, there were meet-ups by tech founders that would happen once in a while. There was one Friday night meet-up that I “forced” myself to join in. The venue was at one restaurant in that area around St. Francis Square (at the back of Megamall). I entered the room filled with people. Talking with each other. I felt like drowning in deep blue sea. Nope, not gonna happen. One minute and I’m gone to McDo beside the restaurant eating by myself.

It honestly is frustrating at times. Not gonna lie, I’d love to see myself enjoying talking to people at church or in an event without feeling awkward. But I’ll just accept that this middle-aged dude can be alone in Starbucks working in your computer is fulfilling. Never too late to realize.

So, please extend some grace to this man here when at church, an event or a gathering, you’d feel that he has social disability or something.

--

--

Arnold Gamboa
One Point

A Filipino tech guy who reluctantly pursued entrepreneurship and now leads TeamSparrow, a team of web professionals. Serves as pastor at LifeCity Church.