I, Prometheus, Donate My Liver Every Day to an Eagle in Need out of the Goodness of my Own Heart

Tori Lee
idle musings
Published in
3 min readOct 6, 2021
A light-skinned man lies naked, prone on a rock. His arms are bound with chains, and his mouth is open in a yell. A large, black bird stands on top of him, biting at his abdomen with its beak.
Theodoor Rombouts, “Prometheus”

My life is full of trauma and abuse. I haven’t had the opportunity to form secure attachments with my own family of origin, because they are the literal spirit of the sky and earth, Uranus and Gaia. But I want to share my truth: my troubled early life has led me to develop so much empathy with others! I mean, I literally created humanity from clay and molded the first human beings with my very own fingers. Maybe some other gods or titans would have felt compelled to donate their livers to their friends or family members, but not me. The suffering of anonymous, large birds of prey who might be endangered is just as real.

I would really TRULY appreciate it if you’d join my Facebook group, where I’m sharing updates on life as a liver donor, and some photos of the recent parade I marched in! Well, I didn’t technically march in it, because I’m shackled to this massive crag at the end of the earth, but I would have if I could! It’s so important to bring more visibility to the cause of being a living donor. It’s honestly enriched my life in so many ways. I’m so grateful. People are like, “Wow, an eagle comes every single day to open up your abdominal cavity and chow down on your liver while you lie there, helplessly bound to a cliff, unable to escape the torture and feeling every last nibble of his bony beak on your internal organs?” And I’m just like, Absolutely. I try not to overthink it. I just have this impulse to give. Every morning, I wake up happy to be alive, with my brand-new liver, magically replenished overnight by the curse of the immortal Zeus. And every day, I focus my life energy on imagining and celebrating YOU, eagle.

See, don’t tell anybody about this, but I kind of tricked Zeus by stealing fire from him in a fennel stalk and giving it to the humans. Ok, you can tell one person, but nobody else. I don’t want people extolling me as a modern-day Robin Hood, because I’m totally not! The humans are really grateful I think, but to be honest I’d kind of appreciate it if they’d express their gratitude a little bit more, like maybe with some sacrificial offerings, or by untying me from this giant rock. But it’s ok, everyone expresses gratitude in their own way and through their own gratitude language. If you did want to acknowledge me in a tribute speech at a conference or something, that would be fine, but I’m not expecting it or anything. Expectation is the thief of joy! I think Gandhi said that.

So, I definitely don’t expect anything, but I did notice that you’ve haven’t really been reacting to any of my Facebook posts. But the spirit in me still respects and honors the spirit in you! You have to blaze your own path! I was just thinking that, since this is my 817th liverversary, which is kind of a big deal, you maybe would want to comment on the post about it, or click the little Care reaction or something. Totally fine if not, just would be, like, a nice thing to do for a friend.

Kindly,
Prometheus

--

--

Tori Lee
idle musings

Classicist, Postdoc @ BU Society of Fellows, 2x gold medalist in puns