Are you recognizing those who work behind-the-scenes?

Tina
Idol Network
Published in
3 min readJan 22, 2019

The entertainment industry is where the audience doesn’t feel or see the work that goes on behind the scene. Everyone sees the glory moments, but they don’t know the amount of work and years people invest behind the stage.

We had an opportunity to visit a music producer who’s been working in the industry for over ten years. I could probably name music artists until the end of time, but when it comes to music producers…. I could barely fill until the end of the sentence. However, producers have a huge role in creating the music and helping artists get the most out of their recording. They help to select songs, coach musician, direct backing vocalists. Etc.

What’s your daily routine as a music producer?

I wish I could give you a simple outline of the daily routine, but the truth is that there is no typical day.

You see, inspiration has to come by itself. You can tell yourself you need to be in the studio at 9 am to start working on a track, but sometimes you’ll get there and find that your brain just isn’t ready to make music.

Music production is a kind of dynamic chaos that evolves, regresses, progresses, and dies…

How long does it take for producing one song?

Different producers have different workflow. For me, the creative process like writing melodies, chords, vocals & rough arrangement it takes me about 3–4 hours.

After the creative part, comes sound selection. Sometimes I use presets, or sometimes I design sounds on my own. It takes me about 1–2 hours.

If I’m satisfied with the rough arrangement of the song, then I start mixing it. It takes me about another 5–6 hours to do.

Then mastering takes me 1–2 hours more.

All this is an ideal case, but in reality, sometimes vocalist is late to recording sessions. Sometimes in my creative process, I hang for no inspiration. Sometimes, I forget to save my project which I regret later.

So it really depends on all these. But most of the time it’s completed in about a couple of weeks or so.

At the end of the interview, he offered to record a song for us. He said that he loves people over at the studio, the time he spends with others in studio is extremely valuable, because he is nourished by the ideas we exchange and the music we share.

For a producer, he’s been behind the scenes his whole career. But he is fortunate enough to do what he loves for his living.

The next time you listen a piece of music or watch a movie, take the time to appreciate all that is happening behind the scenes. Because they put in just as much work as the people on your television screen and on the stage. Let’s cheer to those behind the scene heroes who creates your idols.

--

--