11 Blocks • Wrabel

One of the lyrics in the chorus is “I know that you’re home,” how reassuring

Triana Butler
idolthreat
3 min readSep 19, 2016

--

Wrabel is a singer/songwriter currently living in LA. He wrote an okay song on the last Ellie Goulding album, along with some good songs for Lambo, Phillip Phillips, and Pentatonix. Now he’s doing his own songs, and this is a really very good one.

It’s a bit creepy and stalkery. I mean, if my ex from three years ago drew a map of the 11 blocks from his place to mine in chalk on the pavement outside my house, I’d fucking call the police and tell them to follow the map back to his place and then the police would rock up and ask why he’s harrassing his ex from three years ago by scrawling a map of the route it takes to walk from his place to mine out the front of my place and then he’d start singing his little song about how he knows where I live and how he knows when I’m home and they’d all start tapping their toes and even when they heard the “I know-ow-ow-ow-ow that you’re ho-o-o-o-o-ome” line they’d just go “yeah, so if you stay away from this chick I’ll buy your CD” and then they’d listen to the CD in a CD player in their squad car and maybe even Like him on Facebook and that’d be the end of the matter.

I suppose it’s no less creepy than She Will Be Loved by Maroon 5 was. And the chorus on 11 Blocks is stronger than the one on She Will Be Loved, which is nice.

UPDATE:

I posted a link to this piece on my personal Facebook and Wrabel has hunted it down and Liked it, so either the “creep” theory checks out, or he has an excellent sense of humour and is playing along. (I do so hope it’s the latter.)

I mean, goodness gracious, m8.

--

--

Triana Butler
idolthreat

'Ti' for short. Non-binary radio presenter and streamer. I ♥ radio, music, Pokémon, & TV.