Ignore Me • Betty Who

After The Valley, we need #JusticeForBetty

Triana Butler
idolthreat
2 min readFeb 21, 2018

--

Bafflingly, Australia ignored Betty Who’s incredible 2017 album, The Valley. If anyone had any sense, they’d have heard Mama Say or Human Touch or You Can Cry Tomorrow or even our #1 Aussie song of last year, Some Kinda Wonderful, and fallen in love.

Frankly, I would demand a Royal Commission into why The Valley didn’t go #1 for eight weeks, but we may not need one, after Betty told Nylon about her experience signed to a major label:

“In my case, I had people tell me to go be successful, but they didn’t give me the time, promotion, or the energy. It’s a really difficult place to be because you think, I’m not not successful, but you’re treating me like I’m not.”

So… without connecting too many of the dots for you… she’s now an independent artist, and that might be what her new song Ignore Me is about.

She’s got every right to be proud of herself, too. Ignore Me is a perfect balance of where pop music is at right now, and where it’s heading in the future — and she’s done it all on her own.

Anyway the video clip came out today and as expected it’s excellent.

This song has been added to our Pop Australia playlist on Spotify, dedicated to the best of Australian pop music.

Follow the idolthreat playlist on Spotify for the best new music you need to be across.

--

--

Triana Butler
idolthreat

'Ti' for short. Non-binary radio presenter and streamer. I ♥ radio, music, Pokémon, & TV.