People of Yearn : Marco Worms

Defiglenn
Yearn
Published in
3 min readApr 29, 2022
Marco’s display picture

Q: Tell us a bit about yourself. How long have you been with Yearn and what team are you a part of?

I’ve been working at yearn for about 4 months now and I work with the marketing team, my “role” is to write content

Q: Tell us a bit about what made you want to join Yearn?

I had fiddled with btc and doge in the past but didn’t have much interest on it. Almost a decade later I was fed up with working at fintechs and the VC model, I started making NFTs at Fantom and learned about DeFi and Web3, I like how Ethereum brought space for culture to thrive in the decentralization movement and I wanted to work with something I believe in. I met Yearn when learning DeFi and I liked the concept already, after reading Bluepill and other content by people at Yearn I related a lot to the way it’s being built.

Q: What does your day with Yearn look like?

I speak with other contributors about articles I’m writing or trying to help other people that work with text. If I’m not on top of an article then I’m taking a look at yfi telegram/discord groups and github issues to see if there is something I can easily help with

Q: What are the most impressive parts of Yearn for you?

I found it impressive that Yearn builds a great product in a model completely different from traditional work, people often laugh when I tell them about how the DAO works and this is an evidence for me of how early we are, because even the most intelligent people I know from web2 have difficulty accepting that products and services can exist without a formal company and centralization of power.

Q: What kind of impact do you want to have not just in Yearn but across the space?

I want to help people that could be here with us adding value to web3 make the leap

Q: What about the culture at Yearn do you like?

I like that we have no owner or management and that most of the “people” department doesn’t exist and is up to the contributors to solve their relationship issues instead of sweeping them under the carpet.

In companies (even in the hottest “humane” fintech) the centralization of power leads to people working on what founders/VC want in order to fill their pockets, and innovation is praised in the communications put to the outside to hire new people but on the inside most systems counter innovation and are about controlling the outcome for the desire of a small group of people (disguised as agility).

Q: What are some of your hobbies and interests?

I like to design games but recently I’ve been playing more than designing. I play everything that launches because I like to have a big repertory of game mechanics to recur to when I’m designing. I also love watching movies/series/anime and I intend to make a short-movie with my younger brother soon next year!

Q: Tell us a fun fact about you!

I’m a huge pothead, many frens call me a “productive stoner” because they find it amazing that they think weed is a super downer and I do most things high and with tons of energy! Also I could live 24/7 in the metaverse. That’s where I’ve always lived (online games) and found many good frens like the ones I’m making at Yearn now! I really like when someone I know online is able to meet IRL for a beer or a splif though, frens are one of the few things that makes me leave the metaverse!

--

--