How are Kink and Non-Monogamy Romantic?

I don’t need a prince to rescue me— now it’s bondage, toys, and group sex

Anne Shark
If Not Romance

--

Photo by Gantas Vaičiulėnas from Pexels

I’m tied up in bed. Just my legs for the moment, together, like a mermaid. The red rope is wrapped from my feet to my thighs, and then I’ve added a length of black rope so it can come up over my hips, where they are knotted and secured.

Why did I tie myself up this morning? I don’t know, just wanted to.

That’s what sex is, right, a series of intuitions that bring you to the ultimate pleasure?

It’s a practice of doing and learning. Sometimes it’s all reserved for the bedroom, the lessons staying there for the next time the door is closed.

But sometimes you buy some rope. Toys. Books. You go to classes and learn about bondage, sensation play.

Sometimes you open the bedroom door, you go to other rooms, you surround yourself with people who not only admit they do “weird and crazy things” behind their own bedroom door, but they’re happy to tell you all about it. Sometimes they even do it in different rooms than their own bedroom, sometimes they do it surrounded by other people.

You listen, intent, because maybe you’ll try some of those things too, not necessarily with this person, but with someone else.

--

--

Anne Shark
If Not Romance

Polyamorous and sex-positive essayist, poet, and over-thinker.