Future technology predictions

D. Yvette Wohn
Igloo in the Rainforest
1 min readFeb 11, 2016

Just found today that I was quoted in the Elon Pew Future of the Internet report in 2014 (I submitted my opinion in late 2013). Here’s what I said at the time:

Yvette Wohn, a respondent who shared no other identifying details, commented, “I expect 3D projection (projecting three-dimensional synchronous images) will be the new form of video-conferencing. Virtual reality will become a household device (like the mobile phone) and be implemented first in entertainment form, such as massively multiplayer online games, and later be incorporated into communication devices. Moving beyond wearable computers, companies will be tinkering with prototypes of body-embedded technology that serves as communication device and personal-health tracking device.”

With the release of Oculus Rift, Playstation 4 VR (later this year), virtual reality is really becoming an accessible consumer device. It is funny though because design-wise, there hasn’t been much progress since the early 90s- we still have clunky headsets. I can’t wait until VR actually becomes undetectable and integrated into the body itself.

--

--

D. Yvette Wohn
Igloo in the Rainforest

Assistant professor of Human-Computer Interaction. I study soft sustainability: how motivation, identity, and habit contribute to long-term tech use.