Hey, Cuzzin!

- iioffice
IIO: Indigenous Initiatives
2 min readApr 15, 2019

Have you met Kenneth T. Williams, Assistant Professor in the Department of Drama? Kenneth is Cree from the George Gordon First Nation in Treaty 4.

Where are you “from from”?

I’m from the George Gordon First Nation, which is in Treaty 4 territory (southeastern Saskatchewan). I didn’t grow up there, however. I consider Edmonton my home town, I’ve lived here the longest. I’m about as urban Indian as you get.

Tea or coffee?

Coffee

Call or text?

Text! I won’t answer a call if I don’t recognize the number.

Do you still have a land line at home?

No.

If you were able to sit and have tea and berries with anyone who would it be (dead/alive)?

My mosom, John, and kokom, Ethel.

What’s your favourite topping on bannock?

Strawberry jam.

What is the last book you read?

L.A. Confidential by James Ellroy.

What is the first thing you would buy if you won at bingo?

A cat wheel. It’s like a giant hamster wheel but for cats.

What is your favorite place on campus?

HUB Mall.

What do you see as your role in advancing the TRC?

The calls to action are the foundation for my course, Indigenous Theatre in Canada. My students do a dramatic response to one of the calls to action.

Do you believe it’s important to acknowledge the territory?

Yes. I’ve noticed a positive change in my students because of it.

--

--