Photo by Corinne Kutz on Unsplash

Time Management Challenged!

Nyayu Erika
JAKI/IJHA
Published in
4 min readNov 2, 2019

--

After such small steps taken time, I finally moved on from the editing and summary writing task. This week, the interns were welcomed with a lecturing session with Mr. Ilham. The lecturing session was to explain more about the open journal system and how the journal uses online tools to increases its metrics. The metrics explained shows the number of IJHA’s readers and impacts. The tool used to help increase these metrics is Kudos. Kudos helps to share our works to social media, email contacts and webpages in just one click. Other than Kudos, we were introduced to other websites such as wisdom.ai and hypothes.is. At first, I thought these websites aren’t useful and user-friendly for us as college students. It turns out to be very user-friendly and can be helpful for us who need to mainstreamed our scientific articles or even just some popular articles and even Youtube videos.

Following the editing and summary writing task, I had to input the articles edited and upload my summaries as one of the tasks for the week. From the very simple website that the Indonesian Journal of Health Administration (IJHA) had, I edited the information on the articles’ details and uploaded the newest edited manuscripts. As I had to log in to the website, I could not finish this task at home. I needed to ask Ms. Khair to enter the password and edit the information in IJHA’s office which I find quite difficult to find the time in between my classes. But I managed to edit the articles’ details and also uploaded my summaries on IJHA’s Academia account, which also made me stayed in the office, in 2 days.

Another task that needed me to stay in the office is the “Following 100 People on Twitter” task. In the middle of college busy days, I just found the time to do the task. The task actually is not hard. The title of the task already explained what I must do. However, it was not as easy as the title said. It is true that I must follow 100 people on Twitter, but on condition that the people I followed have some probabilities to submit their article in IJHA. Which meant, I must find people that have research interests or may be currently studying in one of IJHA’s main focuses. To finish the task, it took me about 3 days. At first, I only did the task in IJHA’s office. But after 2 days, I found out that IJHA’s Twitter account was still logged into my laptop, which then I finished the rest of the task at home for only a day, Yippee!

In the other week’s task, I had to design seven infographics for IJHA’s articles and also write their captions. Basically, for this task, I must read the article and find the most interesting and important part of the article and summarize it in less than 100 words for the infographic. I also need to ensure that I only used words that are easily understood by laypeople because the infographic will be spread through mainstream media such as Twitter and Facebook. This infographic was made to engage more people to read IJHA’s article and to get more feedback from the public for the article. The infographic was also a way to achieve the goal IJHA as an open journal which to be able to reach more readers and make greater impacts.

For the infographic task, I thought it was a real graphic designing task. I was quite unconfident because I have no skill at all in graphic designing. I tried designing 2 infographics at first, and then I found out that Ms. Khair had the template ready to be filled with the summary and photos. Those 2 designs I made were very far from the template’s idea. I was using an animated image as I thought it would look more fun and engaging for laypeople to read, but I also forgot that IJHA represents the academician and also Universitas Airlangga, hehe. So right after that, I followed the given template and finally had my final designs after 5 days. It took me quite a long time, right? I juggled through piles of tasks I already had from my classes and I also have to finish this internship task, very challenging indeed.

This week’s tasks were not as hard as the earlier week’s tasks indeed. However, as I am in my fifth semester now, my college’s tasks and projects need me to visit Primary Health Centers, find respondents to fill my questionnaires, make Primary Health Center’s Plan of Action and many more. Those tasks really need time and patience to finish. I am happy that I cleared this week’s tasks and finally can move on to my final week of internship! I am worried that if I could not finish the internship any soon, then my internship will be finished at a very indefinite time, which I hope not.

--

--