Bottle Cap Rap

Luigi Ferrari
Il Macchiato
Published in
2 min readMay 23, 2020

[Late Show host voice]: Howdy y’all! How are we DOOing TOOday?

[Sound of cow mooing plays over speakers]

[Audience laughs uproariously, someone laughs too hard and starts coughing]

[Host laughing]: Ha! Well, all jokes aside, we have a very important guest tonight — here to talk about how he lost his bottle cap — Luigi Ferrari!

[Luigi, in a thick Italian accent]: Thank you very much for having me tonight. As you can see, I am a very old man.

[Silence as audience member who was coughing resumes coughing]

[Luigi]: Thank you. Tonight I would read a sad poem about losing a bottle cap. It is called Bottle Cap Rap. I hope you do not mind that I write it in my native Italian.

[Audience claps]

[A translator emerges from offstage to stand behind Luigi]

[Luigi clears throat, audience member that coughed claps]

[Luigi]:

Mai l’avventuriero smemorato

Mi ero allontanato

Mi sono perso, incrociato

Me! Un pensionato solitario

[Translator]:

Ever the forgetful adventurer

I had wandered off

Got lost, criss-crossed

Me! A lonely pensioner

[Italian chorus, appearing from behind curtain to sing]:

Ma ho mantenuto il mio ingegno nei miei confronti!

Tenne forte la mia bottiglia d’acqua!

Oh sì, ho mantenuto il mio ingegno nei miei confronti!

Ho tenuto la mia bottiglia così devotamente!

[Translated chorus, emerging from behind other curtain to sing]:

But I kept my wits about me!

Held my water bottle stoutly!

Oh yes I kept my wits about me!

Held my bottle so devoutly!

[Luigi]:

Riesci a immaginare lo scompiglio mentale

Allontanato, sono scivolato sull’argilla

Sono inciampato e ho perso la presa

Ho urlato e gridato dal dolore

Ma non è così

ConfronTARE

Per lo spaVENTO

Dell’usURA

Sulla mia signNORA fiERA

[Translator]:

Can you imagine the mental disarray

Led astray I slipped on clay

I tripped and lost my grip

I yipped and shouted out in pain

But that doesn’t

ComPARE

To the SCARE

Of the WEAR and TEAR

On my LADY FAIR

[Italian chorus]:

Sta parlando della sua bottiglia!

[Translated chorus]:

He’s talkin ‘bout his bottle!

[Luigi]:

Abbassai lo sguardo stupito

I miei sentimenti non radicati

Là! A terra, amico!

La mia bottiglia era senza tappo

Sono andato in vacanza e sono caduto

[Someone Italian in the audience gasps, screaming “No!” in Italian]

[Translator]:

I looked down astounded

My feelings ungrounded

There! On the the ground, man down!

My bottle was without a cap

I went reeling and I toppled

[Audience gasps, someone screams “No!” in English]

[Luigi]:

Sono tornato indietro e questo è un dato di fatto

Ma la mia bottiglia era ancora senza tappo

[Translator]:

I made it back and that’s a fact

But my bottle was still topless

[Chorus exits behind curtain]

[Audience claps and coughs politely]

[Luigi]: Thank you.

[Translator]: “Thank you.”

[Band plays Luigi out]

--

--

Luigi Ferrari
Il Macchiato

Non è la stessa Ferrari che stavi pensando—mie scuse!