Thinking and Identification

Darin Stevenson
The Pivot
Published in
2 min readJan 21, 2022

Like most of us, I have many thoughts, hopes, fears and evaluations. And some of the time they sway me; but I remember that the aspect of my mind and awareness that finds thoughts compelling is fundamentally untrustworthy in many if not most contexts. It is prone to all sorts of peculiar narratives and ‘beliefs’ or analyses, many of which have little if any resemblance to existence as it is.

Existence as it is … is fundamentally unimaginable, and though it contains beings like us, who think and ‘believe’ ideas, its nature is unlike this behavior. So while I think, I also doubt… for I know something of the nature of consciousness, and thought.

Imagine, for example, that the shapes I saw in clouds traveling across the sky… a dragon, a sword, a book, a boat… which continually transform… imagine if I believed that each one actually was what it appeared to be… and carved them in stone, identified with them, and tried to convince others of their power, meaning or reality?

One aspect of our mind is like this. And it is a very peculiar thing, prone to adore its own fictions, and to bind and grasp them as if they were more important than anything else.

So although I have ideas, thoughts and evaluations… I am also skeptical of their verity. I remember from whence they come, even though they seem real, compelling, or even irrefutable.

A dream makes no declarations, and it cannot be refuted because it forms no arguments, and has only transforming definitions. I suspect that the nature of our minds, their fundamental nature, is to be found closer to dreaming… and art… than thinking.

--

--