5. Starting in the Middle of The End

Chapters Six and Seven

Paula Shablo
ILLUMINATION Book Chapters

--

Pixabay Free Image

Chapter Six

After we finished eating, I took the dishes to the bathroom and washed them, running the water slowly into the sink. I was careful to make sure no food went down the drain, throwing everything into the garbage.

Who would fix it if the sink got clogged?

Things I never thought about before kept occurring to me now.

I didn’t much like it, but my inborn practicality was coming to the fore.

So far, the water was running fine, but I was scared about it. I searched the kitchen for other pitchers. There were no more, but in a packing box I found two big pots that Mamma used to make tamales and big batches of homemade soup in. I carefully lifted them out of the box, removed the steamer insert from the tamale pot and took them to the bathroom.

I wasn’t crazy — I knew I could never lift either of those pots once they were full of water. I took a smaller pot to fill them up with. I decided they would fit nicely under the sink.

It was slow work. I filled them up, and then I put the lids on the pots, so the water would stay clean.

I figured as long as the water stayed on, we could fill our cups and baby bottles from the bathroom sink…

--

--

Paula Shablo
ILLUMINATION Book Chapters

Published Author. Loving daughter, mom, Grandma. Bona fide Geek with the graphic tees to prove it. Believer of all the fantastic things. Artist, musician & fan.