Groped in the Park

Two Little Girls Chapter 8

Karen Madej
ILLUMINATION Book Chapters

--

On Mondays, I took Shaz and Tracey to Brownies through the park to the community centre in Vicarage Road.

On one particular Monday evening on the return journey, we were on the cycle track between the football pitch and the paddling pool when three older boys walked past us. I knew one of them was an older brother of a girl in my class.

We carried on walking but moments later I felt hands on my chest and between my legs.

I bent double and screamed.

Shaz and Tracey ran.

My screaming reached Marlborough Road a couple of hundred yards away because Daddy came running with a torch and the boys ran away.

“Are you alright, Sarah”, Dad asked.

I stood upright and said, “yes, I am.”

“What happened?”

“Nothing. The boys just scared me. I’m okay.”

We walked back together. I felt safe with my dad.

At the house, Shaz and I had our suppers on trays in our own rooms.

--

--