Peaceful Quiet Lives

Forbidden lovers fall foul of laws in both nations born from the ashes of the Second American Civil War — Part 1, Chapter 2

Simon Dillon
ILLUMINATION Book Chapters
18 min readMar 25, 2021

--

Continued from Part I: Chapter One

Credit: Denisa Trenkle

Part I: Chapter Two

People say ignorance is bliss, but experience has taught me that apathy, not ignorance, is true bliss. Knowing the truth about the bad things going on around you, and still not giving a damn, might not be an admirable, courageous, or morally upright frame of mind, but it is a blissful one.

I often encounter intense, excitable, zealous people, and find their energy for whatever cause or injustice they rail against, tiresome in the extreme. There are many journalists who think that way, believing in some higher purpose to the reports they write or film. They honestly think their sanctimonious claptrap appeals to the better angels of human nature. I believe the reverse is true. The more I am lectured on how I must think or act a certain way, the more I am inclined to think or act in the exact opposite way.

Occasionally I sit in church, as is advisable on a Sunday morning in the NPAR. I endure condescending, prudish, hypocritical sermons, and always want to do the exact opposite of what is being preached against. I…

--

--

Simon Dillon
ILLUMINATION Book Chapters

Novelist and Short Story-ist. Film and Book Lover. If you cut me, I bleed celluloid and paper pulp. Blog: www.simondillonbooks.wordpress.com