Spectre of Springwell Forest

A mother suspects her young daughter is cursed after finding a mysterious painting in the attic of her new home — Chapter 4

Simon Dillon
ILLUMINATION Book Chapters
14 min readApr 13, 2021

--

Continued from Chapter Three

Created by author in Canva.

Chapter Four

‘I have a painting just like this,’ I said.

‘Oh, really?’ said Melissa.

‘I found it in the loft whilst exploring. It might have been left there by the previous owner.’

‘What did you do with it?’ Jane asked.

‘Well, I quite liked it, so I put it up in the hallway. Elsie has one too…’

‘Mine is not up,’ Elsie put in. ‘I don’t like it.’

‘Yes,’ I continued. ‘Well, anyway, I hear they’re painted by a local artist. What’s her name? Alison Merrifield. She obviously felt very struck by this particular scene or she wouldn’t have painted it over and over again.’

For a few seconds, no one spoke. Whatever secret surrounded the painting, no one wanted to explain it. When no further discussion ensued, I continued.

‘I thought I might try and meet with Alison Merrifield and find out why she painted so many pictures of this particular place.’

--

--

Simon Dillon
ILLUMINATION Book Chapters

Novelist and Short Story-ist. Film and Book Lover. If you cut me, I bleed celluloid and paper pulp. Blog: www.simondillonbooks.wordpress.com