The Yellow Hibiscus Chapter 109

Annelise Lords
ILLUMINATION Book Chapters
3 min readApr 22, 2023

--

“You are right, they are obstacles in our way, you and I know what we do with obstacles. We eliminate them!”

Image by Annelise Lords

“John!” She cried turning towards him. “What are you doing here? I thought you were in Washington,” she asked, moving the nozzle of the gun, pulling the safety clip, and pointing the gun to the side of my cheek. None of us had heard when the door opened. None of us knew for how long he was there.

“You killed Tara and Edna?” He questioned her with steely calm.

“I did it for you. I was only protecting you!” she frantically reasoned. “I had to protect you from her!” she cried, the gun now firmly at my cheek.

There was a short silence, then he said in agreement, “You are right, you have to protect me from her and him too,” he added pointing at Willoby.

For a minute she was confused, and so was I. Then she bluntly asked, “John, what are you saying?”

He strolled over to the table, pulled out the chair, sat down a few feet away, then said, “You are right, they are obstacles in our way, you and I know what we do with obstacles. We eliminate them!”

“Ah . . . What?” she bleated alarmed and confused.

He crossed his legs, eased back into the chair, and urged. “Go on, it’s the only way I will get to become the 42nd…

--

--