The Yellow Hibiscus Chapter 113

Annelise Lords
ILLUMINATION Book Chapters
3 min readApr 29, 2023

--

“If the ‘Yellow Diamond Hibiscus’ belongs to your mother as you say, the only proof is to let me see your back!”

Image by Annelise Lords

I must have fainted when I heard the explosion. I woke up in a white room, an IV hooked up to my right arm. Someone in a dapper grey-striped suit was standing to the right, lost in a gaze, peering out the window. Could he be my doctor? No, I supposed he would be wearing a white coat and necklaces with a stethoscope. Well, it wasn’t Willoby, because he ought to be encased from head to toe; if he was still alive. The man now shifted his attention as I sat up gingerly, searching my body for any wound. I wasn’t shot. Thank God! I now prayed for Willoby.

“You are awake!” My father said, smiling as he eased over to me, displaying strong white teeth.

“Willoby?” I whispered.

“Oh, Mr. Willoby is going to be fine!”

“Thank God,’ I exhaled with relief.

I posted a smile not knowing what else to say.

My father cleared his throat, then asked, quite perplexed, “Who are you, and where did you get the ‘Yellow Diamond Hibiscus’?”

Totally dumbstruck, I swallowed a few times then stuttered, “I am . . . I am, I was told it belonged to my mother. Where is it?” I questioned hastily, wondering how he knew about it.

--

--