Fiction/Young Adult/Betrayal

Worth The Risk — Chapter Twenty-Six — Final Chapter

Are you willing to lose it all

Izzibella Beau
ILLUMINATION Book Chapters

--

image by Alexander Belyaev from Pixabay

ONE YEAR LATER

Oh my, God!

Oh my, God!

Oh my, God!

I couldn’t believe the opening night was here.

After a long, grueling, but exciting year of rehearsals and small venues, this would be my first large, sold-out performance dancing with Steps on Broadway.

As much as I thought I would sit around and cry, hide away in my room, fill myself with junk food, and show all the usual signs of depression after Marcus left, I didn’t have time to do any of that.

Okay, I did have my moments of crying and maybe a little binge eating, but I put on my big girl panties and attempted to get on with life.

I said TRIED, but sometimes that didn’t always work.

I’d gotten in touch with my grandmother, you know, the one who doesn’t like my dad. Well, I spoke with her the day after Marcus left for Philly.

I didn’t have the morbid tale of the daughter being thrown out, living on the streets, stealing, and doing whatever she could to survive.

Nope, my grandma had money like my father. So, she set me up in an apartment in the city and always made sure I had money in my bank account.

I learned how to budget and save. I didn’t want to be dependent all of my life. Maybe in the next year or so, I will have enough to be out on my own.

Fingers crossed.

I hadn’t spoken with either of my parents.

Dad sent me a letter, on his company letterhead, of course, asking if I had come to my senses yet. It was stamped with his signature, so I’m not sure if he had anything to do with the actual writing or not.

Rowena visits when she has time. She says Mom asks how I am every time she goes back. So, maybe somewhere deep down inside, Mom misses me.

Anyhow, Amber and I still visit each other all the time. Not as much as we used to while we were in high school, but enough that we were still best friends.

She and Ricky, along with their handsome baby boy—yep, she had a little Ricky they call RJ.

They all still live in her mom’s guesthouse. But they are all doing great and planning to have baby two in another year or so.

Amber decided she loved being a mommy. She’s still involved with modeling, but now she does maternity fashions and lines of clothing involving mommy and baby matching outfits.

Ricky is going to college. He’s undecided right now about his major but is leaning towards a business degree to get into his future mother-in-law’s company.

Cheyenne went back to Texas and is helping her mom and dad in their farming business.

Brianna, well, her father went bankrupt and lost half their fortune, so they had to move away from Sands Point. I think they moved upstate New York and started a small family business handling antiques and art.

Bradley, hmmm, he had an internship with that Wall Street company, but since our parting ways at school and my not being involved with the elite of Sands Point anymore, I haven’t kept track of how he’s doing. I’m sure, being that he’s Brad, he’s doing just fine.

Gabby is still working at her parent’s store on the corner. I stop by and visit her every so often. She’s dating an older guy from her neighborhood. I think he graduated five years ahead of us. I saw them together once, and they look good together.

She was smiling and looking all lovey-dovey.

Yeah, I know that’s a weird concept for Gabby.

And Marcus.

My sweet dear, Marcus.

Surprisingly, we’ve kept in touch.

We talk on the phone at least once a week.

Has he forgiven?

I guess you could say we’ve moved past that point in our lives. We’ve become good friends who try to support one another.

He hasn’t come back home yet—not even a small break from all the work that he does. He helps on the set of his cousin’s web series AND he’s taking part-time classes for teaching.

Yep, he had a change of heart and decided he wanted to help other teens find their way through high school.

I think he’s going to have quite a following of girls once he’s in a classroom.

He’s in the beginning stages, pre-requisites and such, but figures he can have his degree in another five years or so.

Three months after we graduated, I went to see him.

Only he doesn’t know this.

I found out where he was staying, a slip of address release from Amber, and decided to pay a surprise visit.

I was so ready to see him and maybe start anew, but things didn’t quite happen the way I would’ve liked.

The day I’d gone, Marcus was working on the set with his cousins. I had it all planned out in my mind for how it would unfold.

I would sneak, or pay my way onset, and show up when he least expected.

I wanted him to notice me, get the gorgeous smile I knew was only for me, and then run to me and say he’d been waiting.

Well, I did go into the warehouse where they filmed; there was no big security there to evade.

I walked around and followed the signs that pointed to the production area.

I heard Marcus’s voice and was drawn into the sound.

Then she appeared.

For a second, I thought maybe another cousin.

But nope, the kiss they shared wouldn’t have been experienced by family.

I stood there for what seemed like forever, but it was probably only two seconds. I wanted to cry, scream, rip her hair out, and beg him to not replace me, but I turned around and walked away. I never told anyone I saw him, and I was replaced.

That broke my heart.

And I didn’t think I would ever find love like me and him again.

“Ladies and gentlemen, we have fifteen minutes before showtime.” Our choreographer brought me out of my time of reminiscing.

Now, it was an ‘oh, shit, mindset.

We were each given four tickets for family and friends for them to sit in an exclusive section of the theater. I gave three to Amber, told her to bring whoever she wanted, and one to Rowena since she supported me since day one.

“Ten-minute countdown.”

Fuck!

I was already dressed in costume and make-up was all done. Now, I had to get myself mentally prepared.

Time to zone out.

The lights.

The music.

The excitement in the air.

The roar of clapping from the audience.

That was what it was all about.

I lived and loved those types of moments.

Our dance crew put on a two-hour show. We were so in-sync with one another, it was like we all moved as one.

To me, we looked flawless.

And then it was over.

We were all given a five-minute breather before those who had behind-the-stage passes would be able to visit the stars of the show.

Amber had passes that came with the tickets, so I knew she and Ricky would be back here at any moment.

Rowena may take a moment to visit, but usually, she likes to hang back and tell me how proud she is when she stops over at the apartment.

A crowd of people started to rush through the backstage area. Everyone kept congratulating us and saying how wonderful we all were.

“Chelsey.”

I recognized Amber’s voice above everyone else. She and Ricky were making their way to me from the entrance.

"Amber." I called her name back and began to move forward toward them.

I was wrapped in a tight hug.

“You were fantastic.” Amber planted kisses on each of my cheeks.

“Thanks. Hey, Ricky.”

Ricky finally made it over to our section of the room. He hugged me and congratulated me on a great performance.

“Rowena was here, but she had to leave.”

I nodded. “She always does. She has this phobia about crowds. I’ll see her sometime this coming week.”

I looked around and didn’t recognize anyone else who was walking about. “Couldn’t even give the tickets away, huh?” I referred to the fact they didn’t bring anyone else with the extra ticket.

“Well…” Amber drew out the word like she was hiding something. “We brought a special guest.”

Great, let me guess, my mother, right? “Who?” My excitement level edged down a notch.

My eyes followed Amber’s head as she looked over towards the stage door entrance.

Holy, fuck.

I couldn’t believe it.

Marcus was standing there.

He smiled and waved.

I couldn’t move.

The air got sucked out of the room.

He was walking my way.

“Hey, Chels. You did it. I’m so proud of you.” Marcus nudged Amber aside and hugged me. It was a small one, but one nonetheless.

“Um, thanks.” I didn’t know what else to say.

My mind was blank.

This was a huge surprise.

After three hundred and eighty-five days, Marcus was standing in front of me.

“Hey, baby,” Amber said, wrapping her arm around my shoulders. “We have to get back to R.J. before my mom feeds him too much of that Tutti Fruity shit.” She grabbed hold of Marcus’s hand and pulled him closer once again. “Marcus is staying with us, can you drop him off later so you two can visit?”

Well, shit, I didn’t know what to say.

“You can, great.” Amber kissed my cheek. “We’ll talk tomorrow. You were spectacular tonight. Love you, bye.” She grabbed Ricky’s hand and led him away.

“I didn’t think she was going to do that, sorry.” Marcus watched as his ride walked out the door.

“No problem.” I waved my hand at him to come with me. “Let me grab my things and we can go.”

Marcus followed and waited outside the dressing room while I changed and gathered my stuff.

I was excited about seeing him but wondered about the girlfriend I had seen him kissing.

Where was she?

How long was he here?

Why was it that every time I looked at him, I fell head over heels in love?

“Ready?” I waggled my keys to grab Marcus’s attention. He was watching the other dancers and their families and friends interact.

“If you wanna stay and socialize, I can maybe hail a taxi or something.”

“Nah, I’m good. It was an exhausting evening.”

What I really wanted to say was that I’d rather spend time with you. But we were strictly on a friend level, especially since his mysterious girlfriend loomed in the back of my mind.

“Okay.” Marcus kept behind me out to the parking lot.

“You still have the Porsche.”

Marcus ran his hand over the car as I clicked it open.

“Yeah, it was about the only thing I took once my parents kicked me out. I’m lucky they didn’t press charges against me for taking it.”

We both settled into the car and I worked around the traffic crowding the streets.

“Well, Chels, let’s go see this new apartment you got. All big and bad, living on your own now.”

Marcus looked as casual and comfortable in the passenger seat as all the other times he used to ride with me. It was like nothing tragic had ever happened between us in the past.

“You don’t have to get back to Philly? Are you staying at Amber’s for a while?”

I didn’t want to keep him out later than he wanted. I wouldn't want to keep him away from his Philly girl, right.

“No, and yes.”

Okay, nice short answers.

What’s the story behind it all?

Maybe we aren’t as close as I thought. He doesn’t seem like he wants to share anything with me.

“Okay.”

What more could I say?

We made it back to my apartment, which got a loud whistle from Marcus.

“Shit, Chelsey, I wasn’t expecting this.”

Okay, so I didn’t have the apartment most people would have if they were kicked out of their parent’s house at eighteen. My grandmother set me up rather nicely in a condo.

Did it cost a couple of million?

Yes, it did.

I didn’t ask for it, but she insisted.

So, I had a three-bedroom, twentieth-floor condo that had window walls on every side so I could look out at the city. It was around five thousand square feet and even included a lap pool on the balcony outside.

“Welcome to my new home.” I opened the door and waved my arm for Marcus to enter.

“Sweet.” Marcus took in all of the décor that took me a whole year to purchase and situated it just right.

He sat down on the fluffy sofa and made himself comfortable.

“Water or champagne?” I took out both bottles and held them up.

“Whatever you’re having.”

I put the water back into the icebox, grabbed two flutes, and plopped down beside him.

I poured half a glass for each of us and handed one to him.

“To old friends reuniting.” I held up my glass in a toast.

“To new beginnings and chasing our dreams.” Marcus made an additional input.

We clinked and took a sip.

‘New beginnings?

Chasing our dreams?

Was that about only me or was he referring to himself also?’

“New beginnings?”

What did that mean?

Marcus took another sip and nodded. “Yeah, I decided to move back.”

“Nice.” I tried to contain my excitement.

“The whole web series production was cool and all, but I need to focus on a life goal. Something that would carry me through for a couple of years and not just a fad.”

“And.” I waved my hand at him to continue.

“I’m attending a small college here in the city, one for teaching. The guidance counselor I was working with in high school wrote a great recommendation and got me hooked up with financial aid.”

“Awesome.” I was so happy for him. “What about your girlfriend?” Oh, shit. I didn’t mean to say that out loud.

Curious, dark eyes looked my way.

“Girlfriend?”

“I thought…you know…maybe there would be someone.”

“Well, there isn’t.”

Ok, if I wanted to try and rekindle our relationship, I had to tell the truth. Keeping secrets is what got me in trouble the last time.

“I came to see you when you were in Philly. Like two or three months after we started talking regularly.”

Now I had all of Marcus’s attention.

“I was going to surprise you, you know... maybe lunch or something.”

My mind wandered back to that day. The kiss between him and that girl.

“I came to the warehouse, studio, whatever it was you all were filming. I saw you, but then I saw her, she was beautiful. I thought maybe another family member, but you kissed her. A kiss I remember you saying, if you ever kissed another girl like that, then I would have to worry.”

Marcus nodded, but he kept silent.

Maybe I went overboard with the hope we could begin again.

“Sydney.”

He gave me a name. Was that her?

“We dated for a month or two.” Dated, as in past tense.

“You two aren’t together anymore?”

Marcus shook his head, then finished off the rest of his champagne. “She wasn’t you.”

Now I sat silent. What did he mean by ‘she wasn’t me’?

I filled Marcus’s glass up with some more alcohol. I wanted to continue our conversation and keep him here as long as I could.

“I tried, Chels. I really, really tried to forget you.”

Marcus took another gulp of the liquor before he continued.

He shrugged. "But I couldn’t.”

It was like he was talking to himself.

“Everyone,” he said, looking over at me. “My cousins kept telling me to move on. They fixed me up with Sydney, and she was nice and beautiful, and I tried to like her. I attempted to make it work, but even she knew deep down I wasn’t over you yet.”

And now?

Was he still in love with me, like I was with him?

“I don’t know, Chelsey. Part of me wants to work on our relationship, and the other half of me is scared to death.”

There was such sadness in his eyes. I wanted to take away the pain we had both been carrying around for so long.

“I haven’t dated anyone. I couldn’t”

I had to tell Marcus how I felt. I couldn’t let him go again.

“I couldn’t stop loving you.” Okay, there, I said it.

Now, I wanted to hide my face away so I wouldn’t have to view his expression and possibly the rejection that might come.

Marcus scooted closer to me on the sofa.

“Chels.”

I slowly opened my eyes and met his stare.

Marcus tenderly touched my cheek. “Me too.”

I wanted to laugh and dance, but I ended up crying. I couldn’t help it, he made this night more spectacular than I could ever imagine it being.

“Chelsey.” Marcus wiped my tears away. “We have to be truthful all the time. Can you do that? No matter what.”

I nodded. My throat was too choked up to speak.

“Is it worth the risk to start again? Can we be together without focusing on what everyone else thinks?”

I leaned closer and let my lips touch his ever so softly. “There are no more risks, Marcus. It’s only us.”

Six-Month Check-In

So, it’s been six months since Marcus and I officially got back together. Everything has been going well. He was supposed to still be living at home, but with all this extra space in my apartment, it became his place too.

We’re happy together.

Oh, hell yeah, we still fight and argue, but the make-ups are so worth the little disagreements.

I’m still dancing with the company and had offers from several indie and smaller production companies to fill in as a double for dancing scenes in their movies.

Yay, me, right.

Marcus is still attending college and working part-time as a teacher’s aide at a high school here in the city. He says it’s challenging, but he knows he made the right decision.

Amber and Ricky found out they were expecting baby number two. Now she gets to go back to modeling maternity wear. They are still living in the guesthouse, but plan on moving once Ricky graduates from business school.

Gabby still works with her parents and last Marcus heard she was volunteering at the local outreach center for troubled young girls.

My father still won’t speak to me, and my mom came to see me once with my grandmother. It was awkward, like we didn’t know each other at all.

I hadn’t heard from Cheyenne or Brianna in a couple of months. Guess it’s true, after high school, everyone sort of goes their separate ways. We were all together to help one another get through one of the roughest parts of our lives—high school.

Marcus and I learned that being together, despite all of our differences, was worth every risk we took.

It doesn’t matter who you are or where you live, being a teenager sometimes sucks.

But, remember, it doesn’t last forever.

Millions have made it through the trying years.

Make the best of it and know we are in the sinking high school boat of life together at one point.

Start at the beginning of Chelsey and Marcus’s story with the following link:

Worth the Risk

Follow and subscribe to get notified when I drop new content.

--

--

Izzibella Beau
ILLUMINATION Book Chapters

I write articles that will help you grow as a writer and as a person. I also write fictional stories that make you question everything about life and beyond