13 Things No One Tells You When You Reach the Age of 35

Being forced to leave your home hurts like hell

Tim Denning
ILLUMINATION-Curated
9 min readMar 26, 2024

--

Photo by Joshua Earle on Unsplash

In a few months, I will lose my home.

It’s brought me to tears many times in front of my wife and one year old daughter. I spent a good chunk of my life savings to buy this house.

Soon…gone…forever. The memories can never be replaced.

The temptation is to keep fighting my bad neighbor (famous charity) after more than a year.

But sometimes you can’t beat a charity that pretends to do good while simultaneously doing evil. The sunk cost fallacy tells us that everything has an endpoint.

Sometimes it’s good to give up and redeploy your energy elsewhere. Otherwise, you become a crazy person who keeps chasing a goal that leads to madness.

I’m 37. No one tells you at age 35 that not all battles are worth winning.

Some have a huge mental cost that steals your happiness and stabs you in the heart. Here are a few more things no one tells you at 35 (or older).

Forgive your parents (no matter how evil they are)

I held onto grudges with certain family members for too long.

--

--

Tim Denning
ILLUMINATION-Curated

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb