WRITING

1400 Responses Later, Here’s What I Learned.

The responses are where the real story is at.

Tina Viju
ILLUMINATION-Curated
5 min readOct 22, 2022

--

Photo by Avel Chuklanov on Unsplash

I know I am not an anomaly. I head to the responses sometimes even before I am done with the story. I want to know the visceral reactions of readers especially if it is a controversial or emotional story. More importantly, I want to know what the trolls have to say.

I was checking my stats the other day when I realized I had written 1400 responses in the last 3 years. This includes responses I have written for other people’s stories as well as responses to comments on my stories.

The value of responses.

It feels like opening night at the movies when we hit ‘Publish’. We wait with bated breath, wanting to know if our story will be a hit or miss. How many Michelin stars will our new creation get?

Claps, reads, and views are useful analytics that gives us a general idea of how well our story is doing. But responses are pure gold. They are direct feedback from readers and hence are invaluable.

It’s the reviews after all that tell us how good the movie was more than the Box Office numbers. After 1400 responses, here are some insights I gained.

Responses have the power to impact…

--

--

Tina Viju
ILLUMINATION-Curated

Cancer geek . Lover of words & fried rice . Memory Keeper