29 Things You Need to Know if You Want to Write Full-Time

The writing process continues as long as you know your limits

Tom Handy
ILLUMINATION-Curated

--

Photo by Polina Tankilevitch on Pexels

This coming June, I’ll reach a full year as a full-time writer. I have been writing for years for fun, for school, or for work, and never imagined I would become a full-time writer. It wasn’t until I was laid off last June that I had a decision to make…

I could have looked for another job, or I could go all in on writing. I chose the latter and it was the best decision I could have made.

There were times I wasn’t 100% sure so I continued to look at other options that crossed my path. Fortunately, nothing stuck or worked out. So, I’m still here writing.

As a writer, you learn more about yourself. You’ll learn about your strengths as well as weaknesses. Over time, you’ll know what you can and can’t do. You’re not Superman, but kryptonite is still your weakness.

So you can’t do everything.

What works for one writer, may not work for other writers.

So I put together 29 things that apply to any writer. Originally this was going to be 10, but I continued to think of new ideas to add.

1. You need more than one stream of income

--

--

Tom Handy
ILLUMINATION-Curated

I ghostwrite articles for FinTech executives. Seen in Morning Brew, Money magazine, & Who's Who. Get my free email course https://tom-handy.ck.page/5bc47f9d15