3 Reasons You Should Leave a Publication

Breaking up is hard to do but may be in your best interests

Tom Handy
Curated Newsletters

--

Photo by Gustavo Fring from Pexels

When you write for a publisher, there are some days when the relationship isn’t working out anymore and it’s time to cut ties. Sometimes the relationship isn’t working out for you and you need to leave fast. I won’t lie, I have cut ties with several publishers this year because they were holding me back.

I like how I write. I don’t like it when a publisher tells me to fix my work to suit their needs. Yes, the publication has standards but I have my own standards. I’m sure you do as well.

If it’s a minor change, I can work with that. But big revisions really change my story. The same feeling won’t be there anymore that I want the story to have.

As a writer, you need publishers who already have a large following. When you write for them, their writers will see your work. It is an easy way to get a bigger following.

Here are three reasons why I choose to leave a publication.

  • Ask you to change your format to fit their guidelines
  • As a publication, they spend very little time to promote you
  • When editors change, you are no longer the favorite student

Ask you to change your…

--

--

Tom Handy
Curated Newsletters

I ghostwrite articles for FinTech executives. Seen in Morning Brew, Money magazine, & Who's Who. Get my free email course https://tom-handy.ck.page/5bc47f9d15