4 Quotes About Self-Doubt That Will Transform Your Writing

Don’t waste time doubting yourself

Dayton Parks
Curated Newsletters

--

Self-doubt can leave us feeling like we’re stuck and wondering how to fix it. Image by silviarita from Pixabay

I’m immersed in self-doubt. Sitting here, staring at my laptop’s screen, I think about the words I’ve written. I wonder if I should reveal something as personal as doubting myself to the world? I ask myself if people will read the first 5 words of this story and say, “Who cares”. I wonder if they will stop reading. I question my opening sentence and ask myself, “Is there a better way to start my story?” I considered deleting the small amount I’ve written, and then one of my favorite quotes comes to me.

“There’s nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and open a vein.” ― Ernest Hemingway

I’ve opened a vein, and I’ve found other authors who have done the same. Here are four quotes about self-doubt that will transform your writing.

Quote by Vincent Willem van Gogh about painting.
Image by the author

“If you hear a voice within you say you cannot paint, then by all means paint and that voice will be silenced.” ― Vincent Willem van Gogh

--

--

Dayton Parks
Curated Newsletters

Published in The Ascent, The Writing Cooperative, Illumination-curated, Writers’ Blokke.