4 Techniques To Help You Stay Focused In Ramadan

If you are a student observing Ramadan, these tips are for you!

Hana Makhlouf
Curated Newsletters

--

Photo by Prokhor Minin on Unsplash

For Muslims around the world, Ramadan is a month to focus on fasting, prayer and committing good deeds.

As a student, I sometimes found it challenging to balance between my studies and my religious commitments. This is especially true because Ramadan is usually at the same time as coursework submissions and end of year exams.

The techniques below have significantly improved my focus and helped me accomplish more on both the academic and religious fronts.

Note:

I am aware that different people use different terms. Throughout this article, I will be using ‘iftar’ when talking about the evening meal with which we break our fast at sunset.

1. Leave Intense Work For After Iftar

I am currently living in the UK, where Muslims fast around 17 hours per day. I find it difficult to focus on very demanding tasks before iftar. So, what I do is leave those for right after iftar.

I eat, make a cup of coffee and do 2–3 hours of focused work from 9.30/10 pm to around 1 am. During this time, I try to focus on 1 big task like writing a section of my thesis or finishing a…

--

--

Hana Makhlouf
Curated Newsletters

Software engineer by day. Passionate about everything tech, reading and self-development👩🏽‍💻